The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 2 (2015) | Film Review


Title: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 2 (2015)
Director: Francis Lawrence
Writers: Peter Craig, Danny Strong
Based on: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Cast: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Donald Sutherland, Julianne Moore, Sam Claflin
Genres: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller
Running Time: 137 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for intense sequence of violence and action, and for some thematic material
Production Company: Color Force
Distributed by: Lionsgate Films


Realising the stakes are no longer just for survival, Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) teams up with her closest friends, including Peeta (Josh Hutcherson), Gale (Liam Hemsworth) and Finnick (Sam Claflin) for the ultimate mission. Together, they leave District 13 to liberate the citizens of war-torn Panem and assassinate President Snow (Donald Sutherland), who’s obsessed with destroying Katniss. What lies ahead are mortal traps, dangerous enemies and moral choices that will ultimately determine the future of millions.


People always say that the book is better than the film. I must agree on that. I too always feel that the book will be better than its film because, in the book, the story is written completely and as a reader, you can understand the plot story clearly. Why this thing happened and so on. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 2 is one of the examples that the book always better than the film. Although not always, I rarely see the film is better than the book itself. I know it’s hard for the filmmakers to convey the story in the book into a film with limited time. However, since this is a film review, I will try my best to put an opinion based on the film itself.

As far as I remember, this film is nearly like the book. From the beginning, I am not a fan of Mockingjay. Of all the trilogy books, I prefer the first book, The Hunger Games. This also apparently applies to the film too. Still, Mockingjay Part 2 is better than the previous film, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 1 (2014). I, myself, don’t understand why they made it into two parts. For bigger grossing perhaps? I don’t know. But to me, it’s kind of wasting time and wasting money. The first film is super boring that I have to watch it three times to make sure I made it to the end. Too much talking and less action. Mockingjay Part 2 is much better because the talking is lesser now and the action is a bit tensed as well. It’s like watching another Hunger Games, though not as brutal as The Hunger Games (2012) or The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013).

Jennifer Lawrence surely looks the prettiest here, instead of other three films previously, except for her wig. I can definitely see her hair was not her real hair but a wig. It’s like watching Kristen Stewart in The Twilight Saga: Eclipse (2010) all over again. In that film, to play the role of Bella Swan, Kristen Stewart has to wear a wig because her original hair was too short. I already thought that Stewart looked dreadful in Eclipse and now, it happened to Lawrence. Seriously? I mean, I don’t go against wig on film but please, at least make it real. I do against it at first because of the traumatic scene of Kristen Stewart in Eclipse. Then again, I watched Emilia Clarke playing the role Daenerys Targaryen in Game of Thrones. Now that’s what you called a perfect wig. I thought at first, she dyed her hair or that platinum blonde is actually her hair after all. But no, it was all wigs. I was so surprised. So please, if the hair stylists decided that the actress should wear a wig, at least do it well. Or else, just make an agreement with the actors or actresses that they weren’t allowed to cut their hair until the production is over.

“Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the seventy-sixth Hunger Games.” – Finnick Odair

Of all the actors and actresses in Mockingjay Part 2, my favourite one is, of course, none other than Sam Claflin. If not because him, I would rather give up on this film. Don’t get me wrong, Jennifer Lawrence has delivered a great acting skill, so does Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth. However, my favourite actor is Sam Claflin, so I can’t help but wait for another scene of him.

The overall story is not as different as the book, though some changes have to be made to fit the film production. It’s understandable. Still, I think it’s wasting time and money to make Mockingjay as two parts. I still prefer the setting in The Hunger Games, but Mockingjay Part 2 also gave us some good CGI effect as well. Not perfect, but at some points still entertaining. Mockingjay Part 2 is not a great disappointment, but I can’t say it’s a good film. But at least, this film is better than its first part. Mockingjay Part 2 is definitely more worth to watch than Mockingjay Part 1. This film is good, but not great. I can’t say I like it, but I don’t hate it either.

I give The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 2 6.5 out of 10 stars.

😘  Toodle-oo,

1 thought on “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 2 (2015) | Film Review”

  1. Have to agree with you on this one. It certainly was a movie I expected a lot more from, especially seeing as to this is the closing segment of the franchise. It could really have been a better movie, and even though it had it’s moments, it was a bit of a letdown. Great review as always 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

