Film Reviews

The Mummy (2017) | Film Review


Title: The Mummy (2017)
Director: Alex Kurtzman
Writers: David Koepp, Christopher McQuarrie, Dylan Kussman
Story by: Jon Spaihts, Alex Kurtzman, Jenny Lumet
Cast: Tom Cruise, Sofia Boutella, Annabelle Wallis, Russell Crowe, Jake Johnson, Courtney B. Vance, and Marwan Kenzari
Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Horror
Running Time: 110 minutes
Languages: English, Ancient Egyptian
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for violence, action and scary images, and for some suggestive content and partial nudity
Production Companies: Perfect World Pictures, Secret Hideout Conspiracy Factory, Sean Daniel Company
Distributed by: Universal Pictures


Nick Morton (Tom Cruise) is a soldier of fortune who plunders ancient sites for timeless artefacts and sells them to the highest bidder. When Nick and his partner, Chris Vail (Jake Johnson) come under attack in the Middle East, the ensuing battle accidentally unearths Ahmanet (Sofia Boutella), a betrayed Egyptian princess who was entombed under the desert for thousands of years. With her powers constantly evolving, Morton must now stop the resurrected monster as she embarks on a furious rampage through the streets of London.


After a few days ago I’ve watched Wonder Woman (2017)The Mummy was certainly on my next watch list films. I was so excited about this film, not only because of Tom Cruise, but I am a fan of The Mummy TrilogyThe Mummy (1999) and The Mummy Returns (2001) are one of my favourite films of all time. They are fantasy films combined with Ancient Egypt history. I love films with a little bit of mythology, ancient history, and supernatural beings. That’s why I like The Mummy. Although to be honest, I haven’t watched all The Mummy films from Universal Monsters, only The Mummy Trilogy. However, I am disappointed with The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008), even though Jet Li and Michelle Yeoh were in the film, somehow the story wasn’t as good as the previous two films. It wasn’t as exciting as I was hoping for. Even Rachel Weisz didn’t join the cast, making my excitement of the third film decreasing. And when I heard they were trying to reboot the film with Tom Cruise on the cast, I can’t help but super excited about it.

It’s pretty interesting that The Mummy from Universal’s new Dark Universe version was set in a modern world, remembering that mummy is pretty much an ancient subject and usually the set would be in an ancient city or other old places, instead of a modern city like London. This film proves that mummies can be brought to the modern city as well. Then again, I still prefer the usual setting but I don’t close my eyes to a new concept. I don’t put a standard bar for this film because I’ve seen the trailers and it’s pretty much different from the previous The Mummy films. After all, this film is a reboot, not a remake.

Many people are very enthusiasts with this film mainly because of Tom Cruise. I am pretty sure of that. I mean, it’s Tom Cruise. What can I say more? He’s everyone’s favourite. Tom Cruise was already well-known for doing many of his own stunts. Isn’t he amazing? Remembering that he’s already 54 years old but his stunts are pretty much dangerous, making him more awesome than he already has. Tom Cruise has proved us that he’s not just about pretty face but he also got some skills, a lot of skills to be exact. As always, Tom Cruise gave us incredible stunts. From the zero gravity plane to running away from the mummy. I am still amazed even though Tom always does the running scene in every of his film.

“Whatever’s in there has been safely hidden for two thousand years. This isn’t a tomb, it’s a prison.” – Jenny Halsey

The zero gravity scene that you will see in the film and already saw in the trailer, they really did shoot it in a falling plane and the plan was really being rotated. It was amazing. A lot of the crew got nauseous but it was amazing of Tom Cruise and Annabelle Wallis because they didn’t feel nauseous at all. They were very proud of it and I think they really should. I haven’t watched many of Annabelle’s film but she really did a great job in keeping up with Tom Cruise. Like Cobie Smulders in Jack Reacher: Never Go Back (2016), I am pretty sure Annabelle was exhausted in the running scene. Nevertheless, she has done a terrific job because she really can keep up with Tom Cruise who basically always does running scenes. The chemistry between Annabelle’s character and Tom’s character is nicely done. Some funny moments are also given the film to lighten the tension.

Some funny moments are also given the film to lighten the tension. Some were done by Tom Cruise but many were done by Jake Johnson. It’s not surprising that Jake Johnson can always lighten the mood, including in The Mummy. There are so many times that his character, Chris Vail, made me laugh. With so many thrilling scenes, sometimes all we need is a little bit laugh or giggle. And like Annabelle, Jake Johnson has proved that he can also keep up with Tom Cruise.

Of course, you don’t need to question Russell Crowe’s acting. He has proved to us that he’s a great actor from times to times. What I made me surprised was his character. I didn’t read any review of The Mummy before, therefore I didn’t really know what was Russell Crowe playing in the film. I don’t know if it’s a spoiler or not but just in case, I won’t say much about what his character is in the film. Just saying that it’s exciting that Dark Universe has put another classic story’s character in the film, making the story is more interesting than I’ve expected.Tom Cruise may

Tom Cruise may get nearly the highlight, but let’s not forget about Sofia Boutella. She played Ahmanet, who is basically the mummy herself. Yes, this time it’s a she. I’ve seen her previous films and lately, she always plays an unusual character, which I think must be more challenging. Like in Star Trek Beyond (2016), Sofia played the character of Jaylah, an alien scavenger, or in Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014), where she played the character of Gazelle, an eccentric killer with swords feet. Every time she really nails her character, including in this film. We should praise her because she played the character of Ahmanet really really well. I don’t know how many hours that she spent in the makeup chair to do her makeup every day, but I’m betting it wasn’t awhile. Sofia really got the look in playing an Egyptian queen. She is indeed beautiful and still looks awesome as the mummy, though she kind of remind me of Patricia Velasquez who played the character of Anck-Su-Namun in the previous The Mummy franchise. Anyway, Sofia Boutella is a great actress and I’m sure she has a promising future in acting.

With all the great casts, I was really expecting a terrifically good story. However, even though I don’t think the film is so bad, but surely I am not really satisfied with it. It is interesting, I can’t lie about it. I do like the idea of Ancient Egypt story mixed up with the modern world, however, the plot story can be made stronger than this one. It’s interesting that they added Russell Crowe’s character in the film but it wasn’t explained enough and at some point, making his character kind of not as important as his name. I hope they can explore Russell Crowe’s character even more. I am pretty sure it will be fun to know about Russell Crowe’s character, but with so much going on with Ahmanet, the story was already busy enough. Thus making Russell Crowe’s character a bit wasted. I still at this point don’t know what’s his purpose and if people haven’t read the story of Russell Crowe’s character, they would be confused. I myself, despite have read his story a bit, still don’t understand the whole bigger picture.

I heard so many bad reviews from The Mummy. Many of the critics said that this is the worst of Tom Cruise’s film. I don’t know if I have to agree or disagree. Although this film is not as good as I was hoping for, I am pretty sure it’s not that bad. However, if you are not a fan of horror films at all, you won’t like this film. Too much tensed and startling scenes, and at some points, too scary. My sister really doesn’t like the film at all. As for me, I can’t say I like it very much but certainly, it’s not that bad. It’s pretty entertaining at some point. Still, the film is not as good as the previous The Mummy. The CGI effect is good and executed well. Even the sound effect sounds promising and startling, especially if you watched it on Dolby Atmos theatre like I did. Seriously, it was so loud and startling. But well, I think that’s what made the film more thrilling.

All in all, The Mummy really does have a great cast. All the actors and actresses really have done a great job in playing their roles. However, the story isn’t as exciting as I was hoping for but not as disappointed as most people say. Well, perhaps the fact that I like films about ancient history and supernatural beings, made me kind of like this film. I know that I kind of not being objective here but surely if you’re a fan of an ancient history or supernatural beings, this film can entertain you just enough. If you’re a fan of The Mummy franchise or Universal Monsters’ films, I don’t know if you’ll like this film or not, or is this film worth the wait or not, but in my personal opinion, it’s pretty entertaining. I can’t wait for another Dark Universe’s films. Although I wish they developed the story better next time, rather than focusing on how to scare the audience more.

I give The Mummy 7 out of 10 stars.

😘  Toodle-oo,

4 thoughts on “The Mummy (2017) | Film Review

  1. Pingback: Transformers: The Last Knight (2017) | Film Review | Brenda Rochelle's Neverland

  2. Pingback: The Mummy (2017) | Film Review — Brenda Rochelle’s Neverland | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

  3. Your right about the Mummy receiving bad reviews so far. Actually your review, and one I read about a minute ago on another blog, are so far the only two positive reviews that I have read for the movie so far. I’m going to be seeing it anyway, regardless of reviews, as I myself am also a big fan of the Mummy. This was another great review 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, my friends also said that The Mummy is really bad though I can’t say I agree or disagree with them. It’s not good but it certainly not that worse, at least in my opinion. And thank you for the compliment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

