Film Reviews

Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge (2017) | Film Review


Title: Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge (also known as ‘Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales‘) (2017)
Director: Joachim Rønning, Espen Sandberg
Writer: Jeff Nathanson
Story by: Jeff Nathanson, Terry Rossio
Based on: Pirates of the Caribbean by Walt Disney, Characters created by Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio, Stuart Beattie, and Jay Wolpert
Cast: Johnny Depp, Javier Bardem, Geoffrey Rush, Brenton Thwaites, Kaya Scodelario, Kevin McNally, Golshifteh Farahani, David Wenham, Stephen Graham, Angus Barnett, Martin Klebba, Adam Brown, Giles New, Orlando Bloom, and Keira Knightley
Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Running Time: 129 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for sequences of adventure violence and some suggestive content
Production Companies: Walt Disney Pictures, Jerry Bruckheimer Films
Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures


Thrust into an all-new adventure, a down-on-his-luck Capt. Jack Sparrow feels the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost sailors led by his old nemesis, the evil Capt. Salazar, escape from the Devil’s Triangle. Jack’s only hope of survival lies in seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon, but to find it, he must forge an uneasy alliance with a brilliant and beautiful astronomer and a headstrong young man in the British Navy.


Finally, after a long wait, Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge is finally out, people! I was super excited and even felt more when I knew that this film is released in Indonesia two days sooner than in the United States. It’s no secret that I love Pirates of the Caribbean films. I even give Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007) a 10-stars before because that film is so good that it still makes me laugh throughout the film, even though I have seen it several times. Pirates of the Caribbean will always be the best film about pirates. With the iconic Captain Jack Sparrow, played by Johnny Depp, and his iconic ship, The Black Pearl, no wonder Pirates of the Caribbean will always have a place in my heart, or in all our hearts. What’s more exciting to me about Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge is the comeback of Orlando Bloom. I was disappointed when he wasn’t in the fourth film and therefore I am so happy that he’s here now. When I thought that the franchise for Pirates of the Caribbean is finally over, they gave the news that there would be a fifth film. That’s why I am very very excited.

Anyway, the overall story is funny and fun to watch. However, the curse of Salazar kind of reminds me with the curse in the first film, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003). Even though basically it’s a different plot, somehow it kind of reminded me of the prior film. But I am not complaining. After all, everything is so different. A curse, maybe, but it’s a different kind of curse and different kind of story. However, if they wanted to make another film, I suggest they find another idea besides about curse. Eventually, people will be fed up if each time they use a curse to make a story.

With many new characters added in this film, Pirates of the Caribbean still has its charm. Although to be honest, compared to the first three films, this film kind of lose its charm. I still think the fourth film, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011), is worse, but I was hoping Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge would be way better. Instead, it can’t even compete with Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End nor Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl. I am still confused why there are two different titles from this film. One used Dead Men Tell No Tales and the other one is Salazar’s Revenge. I think the most suitable one is Salazar’s Revenge. However, I prefer Dead Men Tell No Tales. It’s a phrase that we all have known from the previous films. Nevertheless, whatever the title is, the main highlight is still the story and of course, the actors and actresses who joined the cast.

Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow is still remarkable and iconic. Who doesn’t know him after watching his performance in the first Pirates of the Caribbean film? Johnny Depp is indeed one of the most versatile actors in this era, seeing how different his characters from film to film. Jack Sparrow has been known everywhere and has become an iconic character. I dare to say that if people said pirates, the first thing comes to mind is Captain Jack Sparrow. Yes, he is that iconic. In the first film, Jack Sparrow is portrayed as a mad yet genius pirate. He looks crazy but he knows what he wants and knows what to do. No one knows whether he planned for everything from the beginning or just planning as he goes while improvising here and there. He’s a mad genius who often to be underestimated because of his witty act. I still think Jack Sparrow is witty, genius, and crazy. However, as much as I love him, I have to say Jack Sparrow’s charm has dim. I am not going to say it’s getting boring because it’s not, but somehow it’s not as refreshing as when I saw the first three films. I am still fascinated by how genius he can be but I am not as surprised as before. In Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge, they did tell us how Jack Sparrow received his magical compass and how genius is he from he was young. But I think it’s not enough to make what he did as refresh as before. Don’t get me wrong. Johnny Depp is still entertaining and charming. His charisma is still as strong as always. There are many times I laughed when I watched this film because of Johnny Depp’s character Jack Sparrow. However, the laugh is no longer as hard as when I watched Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End because Jack Sparrow’s character is getting more predictable. But still, it’s entertaining as ever. I also think, without Captain Jack Sparrow, there would be no Pirates of the Caribbean. Johnny Depp has made his character and this franchise film memorable and iconic.

“A great pirate does not bother with such intricacies.” – Captain Jack Sparrow

Brenton Thwaites has joined the cast as Henry Turner, Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. Somehow, Henry’s purpose also reminded me of Will Turner’s purpose in the prior film. Although they started it differently, eventually, their purpose is the same. Thus making another similarity between Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge to its previous films. However, the skills are definitely different. I don’t if it’s just me or everyone also thinks so, but I kind of find a resemblance between Brenton Thwaites and Orlando Bloom. I think Brenton Thwaites really suited to play Will Turner’s son after all. As a new member of the cast, Brenton Thwaites’s performance can not be underestimated. Perhaps his character, Henry Turner, would be forever compared to Will Turner. Nonetheless, Brenton has given a pretty much enjoyable performance.

If there’s a young man, surely there will be a young woman. Kaya Scodelario from The Maze Runner (2014) has been cast to play Carina Smyth, an astronomer who tried to seek the meaning of his father’s journal. Of course one would think that she’s a replacement for the young Elizabeth Swann. But the two are so different that I don’t think it’s fair to compare them. Kaya’s performance is also entertaining. She managed to deliver some funny stuff that will make us smile. I somehow think her performance here is better than in The Maze Runner or Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015). I don’t know if it’s because of the character in that franchise that I don’t like, but truthfully, I really think Kaya’s acting as Carina Smyth is very enjoyable to watch.

I do like the addition of the new cast. But I can’t help myself missing the old cast member. Orlando Bloom did come back as, well, more of a cameo and so did Keira Knightley. Both of them still delivered a great performance, especially Orlando Bloom who has now become some sort of Davy Jones. And there are only a few original crew members of The Black Pearl that made a comeback, such as Mr Gibbs played by Kevin McNally and Marty played by Martin Klebba. However, the most memorable member of The Black Pearl is, of course, Hector Barbossa. Known to be Jack Sparrow’s frenemies because at first, Barbossa stole Jack’s ship and made himself captain. Afterwards, they’ve been working together and also fighting each other from time to time. Unlike Jack who is more on to the good side, Barbossa is more of changing. Sometimes good and sometimes bad. Although he is not as unpredictable as Jack Sparrow, still, Captain Barbossa is a very interesting character.

As much as I love Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge, I still miss the old Pirates of the Caribbean, where the focus is more about pirates, rather than the mystical devices such as Fountain of Youth in Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides or Poseidon’s Trident in this film. In the original films, we can see more fightings at the sea, making the film is so piratey. The CGI effect still impressive as well. Some even look greater than the previous films. However, there are some effects that look too computery, making it looks a bit fake. Nonetheless, I still can enjoy it despite it since I know it’s not easy to edit such things, that’s why I am not complaining. On the other hand, the songs in this film feel so nostalgic and still as engaging as ever. I always love the songs from Pirates of the Caribbean films.

I think no film about pirates can be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean. When someone says Pirates films, I am pretty sure that everyone will think of Pirates of the Caribbean. That’s how good and memorable Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is. Captain Jack Sparrow also has become an iconic role. No matter what, there are times when we should know a film has to come to an end. I don’t know if Pirates of the Caribbean is one of it but if they want to make another film for this franchise, I suggest they try a different approach. Don’t try to soft reboot or changing the course of how a pirate film should be. And more focus in making it more memorable and refreshing as the first three films. I know it’s not a good job to go beyond a what’s already good story and film, but I really think if they keep on relying on mystical devices or curses or even the same storyline, people will think that it’s finally time for Pirates of the Caribbean to sink because the story gets more and more predictable.

All in all, I love Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge. Although it still can’t beat the first three original films, this film still can entertain me very well. This film still manages to make me laugh a lot when I watched it. Captain Jack Sparrow is still as witty as ever and as mad and genius as ever. Overall, this film is still enjoyable, lighthearted, and fun. And don’t leave your seat too fast because like all the other Pirates of the Caribbean films, there is also a post-credit scene by the end of this film, so make sure not to leave it out.

I give Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge 8 out of 10 stars.

😘  Toodle-oo,

3 thoughts on “Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge (2017) | Film Review

  1. Pingback: Wonder Woman (2017) | Film Review | Brenda Rochelle's Neverland

  2. I honestly was kind of finished with the entire Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, but this new one really does seem like a good step in the right direction. It looks like a lot of fun, and really seems to bring back the spirit of the original film. I’m glad that you enjoyed the film, and as always your review has been a lot of fun to read and was very well written. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

