film-information

Title: Big Hero 6 (2014)
Director: Don Hall, Chris Williams
Writers: Jordan Roberts, Robert L. Baird, Daniel Gerson
Based on: Big Hero 6 by Man of Action
Cast: Scott Adsit, Ryan Potter, Daniel Henney, T. J. Miller, Jamie Chung, Damon Wayans Jr., Genesis Rodriguez, James Cromwell, Alan Tudyk, and Maya Rudolph
Genres: Animation, Action, Adventure, Comedy, Drama, Family, Sci-Fi
Running Time: 102 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG for action and peril, some rude humour, and thematic elements
Production Companies: Walt Disney Pictures, Walt Disney Animation Studios
Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures


synopsis

When a devastating event befalls the city of San Fransokyo and catapults Hiro into the midst of danger, he turns to Baymax and his close friends; adrenaline junkie Go Go Tomago, neatnik Wasabi, chemistry whiz Honey Lemon, and fanboy Fred. Determined to uncover the mystery, Hiro transforms his friends into a band of high-tech heroes called “Big Hero 6.”


my-opinion

Ever since the trailer of Big Hero 6 came out, I’ve been waiting to watch the film as fast as I can. And indeed, I did watch it the first day it came out in the cinema. I kind of rewatch it again lately and no matter how many times I’ve seen it, Baymax is my new favourite! He’s my new Winnie the Pooh—though, I am still in love with Pooh, of course. But seriously, Baymax is just super adorable. Everything he does is super funny and utterly adorable. The way he talks, walks, moves, everything is just super cute.

Let’s get down to the film first before I talked more about Baymax. So, Big Hero 6, as far as I know, is adapted from Marvel’s comic. It is not an originally Disney story but it’s Marvel. I don’t know the story how Disney decided to take Big Hero 6 into their film, but I think it’s a wise choice. Everyone loves Baymax! Who doesn’t anyway? Besides, the heroes in Big Hero 6 is more suitable for Disney rather than Marvel, who has been stereotyped with all those mighty heroes like Iron Man, Thor, Hulk, Doctor Strange, Captain America, and so on.

Aside from Baymax, I think the most popular character in Big Hero 6 is Tadashi, Hiro’s brother. Perhaps because of the fact that Tadashi was portrayed handsome, he is popular among the girls. I, myself, like him better than Hiro. However, since my eyes are always on to Baymax, I don’t pay enough attention to him. Tadashi is indeed attractive for an animation character but you just can’t deny how cute Baymax is. Seriously, I am in love with Baymax!

“Hello. I am Baymax, your personal healthcare companion.” – Baymax

In the matter of the story, Big Hero 6 excelled in a way. I like the way how I can’t predict the real villain here. Unlike any other animation stories which can be guessed pretty much easily who’s the true villain. Even the ending is quite unexpected. There are some surprising elements in the film, I guess. And that is why I like this film. Apart from the true villain, the story is pretty much easy to guess. Then again, this film is primarily intended for younger audiences, therefore, a too complex story won’t do any justice.

Children will absolutely learn a lot from this film because Big Hero 6 has indeed provided many moral lessons that can be taken. It is no surprise that Disney always manages to put many moral lessons for younger audiences. I guess even adults can take some lessons too.

Big Hero 6 has won the Oscar for Best Animated Feature Film of the Year in 2015 and this film beats How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014). I was so very happy about it winning the Oscar, though I also kind of sad because How to Train Your Dragon 2 lost because I also love that film. It’s kind of a bittersweet moment. However, I have to say that Big Hero 6 really deserves the Oscar. The story is great, funny, and many lessons can be learnt from it. Even though the character of Toothless is just as funny as Baymax, and the story of How to Train Your Dragon 2 is also very great, it all comes back to the moral lessons. Big Hero 6 definitely gives you many lessons, especially when you want to teach your kids. Not that I’m saying you can’t learn from How to Train Your Dragon 2, it’s just Big Hero 6 gives you more lessons. At least that’s what I get from watching both films anyway.

The animation in this film is undoubtfully amazing. Everything is being thought thoroughly. Everything is created beautifully. It’s like seeing a real film because everything seems like alive. The animation is so good that everything seems like the real thing. Like, you can see that in each scene, every corner seems so alive. All the people in every scene are moving, thus made the film more realistic. Great job to the animation team. The name of the city and person in Big Hero 6 are also rather unique. It’s the combination between American and Japanese. Like the city itself is called San Fransokyo, a combination of San Fransisco and Tokyo. Unique, right?

My most favourite scene in this film is perhaps when Baymax did fist bump! The sound that he makes is super utterly adorable. Seriously. Baymax is really the icon of the year. No matter how many times I have watched the film, the fist bump thing that he did is always my favourite. I can’t help not to smile or even laugh each time I see it. Baymax is surely the new everyone’s favourite. Not only children, I think adults will also love him. He is super adorable and that’s why no wonder everyone loves him. And I am proud to say that I love Baymax! He is so cute, seriously.

All in all, Big Hero 6 is surely a great film, not just for children but for adults too. I guess animation films these days have become a contender in the film industry. They are not only for children now, but adults can also enjoy them. Big Hero 6 surely does one of those animation films that you will enjoy. It surely is entertaining and will make you at the very least smile. Many lessons can be taken from this film too and that is good to make some examples for younger audiences.

Therefore, I give Big Hero 6 8.5 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

