film-information

Title: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010)
Director: Mike Newell
Writer: Boaz Yakin, Doug Miro, Carlo Bernard
Story by: Jordan Mechner
Based on: Prince of Persia by Jordan Mechner
Cast: Jake Gyllenhaal, Gemma Arterton, Ben Kingsley, Alfred Molina, Steve Toussaint, Toby Kebbell, Richard Coyle, Ronald Pickup, Reece Ritchie, and Gísli Örn Garðarsson
Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Romance
Running Time: 116 minutes
Languages: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action
Production Companies: Walt Disney Pictures, Jerry Bruckheimer Films
Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures


synopsis

Set in the mystical lands of Persia, a rogue prince and a mysterious princess race against dark forces to safeguard an ancient dagger capable of releasing the Sands of Time—a gift from the gods that can reverse time and allow its possessor to rule the world.


my-opinion

I know Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time is an old film. Well, kind of old since it has been seven years ago. However, I’ve watched it again recently and therefore I decided to write a review about it. I didn’t know anything about Prince of Persia before but I heard it was adapted from a game. Since I don’t play the game, I don’t know what to expect anyway. I will not compare it with the games.

I really like the story from the beginning. The parkour thing that Jake Gyllenhaal did as Prince Dastan is super cool. It’s kind hard to believe that people can actually do that but who knows, right? I don’t know much about parkour so I can’t tell. I don’t watch a lot of Jake Gyllenhaal’s film but I really like him in this film. He is great. The acting was good, the parkour was excellent, the chemistry with Gemma Arterton, who played Princess Tamina, is great.

“I believe we make our own destiny, Princess.” – Prince Dastan

Gemma Arterton really suited the role of Princess Tamina. She is really beautiful, indeed. Princess Tamina is to be said the fallen beauty, a beauty without equal. And I think Gemma Arterton embodied that character perfectly. Her acting is a no doubt as well. She is very good in playing the princess. What’s more interesting is the fact that Gemma Arterton also did one of the stunts herself when she climbed a running horse. Yes, she did it herself and was very proud of it. I think that’s a cool thing to do as well.

Sir Ben Kingsley is also a no doubt in terms of acting. I mean, he has an Oscar in his home, for goodness’ sake. I think we can all agree that he always delivers his acting perfectly. And in Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, Ben Kingsley really delivered an amazing performance as well. He is really good. He can pull off every character that was offered to him.

I really enjoy Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. Well, at least most of the time. However, the downside of this film is each scene is cut roughly. I mean, all of the sudden the scene was finished and cut to the next scene when I thought there’s more about the scene. So the changing between one scene to another isn’t done smoothly. Pretty much like when someone has to cut a scene quickly because something bad happened. That’s what happened to nearly most of the time during the changing scene in this film. They could do better about that but since the story is really interesting and exciting, I think I can overlook those.

As for the costume design and setting in Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, they are just remarkable. They are very beautiful and fit the story really well. Princess Tamina’s dresses are awesome. The palaces, the desserts, everything, are thought thoroughly and beautifully. It’s no doubt that this film is extraordinary. It’s different from any other Disney films, at least if we are talking about kingdoms, princes, and princesses. Because if talking about a real extraordinary Disney film, my first thought always goes to Pirates of the Caribbean. Well, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007) is one of my favourite films of all time after all.

The visual effect in Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time is also very remarkable. When Prince Dastan did the parkour thing, I am pretty sure some of it are because of the CGI. There’s no way he can jump that far to a small hole. It’s just too impossible to do in one try anyway. However, since the animation has done a really great job, all of those scenes did look convincing and I think the audience would barely notice the CGI effect.

All in all, Prince of Persia; The Sands of Time is a good film. It’s really entertaining and very exciting to watch. I really enjoy watching. Although I kind of not liking the ending, I still think the overall story of this film is great and interesting.

Therefore, I give Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time 8 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

