Critical Eleven by Ika Natassa | Book Review


Title: Critical Eleven
Author: Ika Natassa
Publisher: PT. Gramedia Pustaka Utama
Publication Date: 10 August 2015
Edition Language: Indonesian
Pages: 344 pages
Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Drama, Fiction, Family, Romance


synopsis

Dalam dunia penerbangan, dikenal istilah critical eleven, sebelas menit paling kritis di dalam pesawat—tiga menit setelah take off dan delapan menit sebelum landing—karena secara statistik delapan puluh persen kecelakaan pesawat umumnya terjadi dalam rentang waktu sebelas menit itu. It’s when the aircraft is most vulnerable to any danger.

In a way, it’s kinda the same with meeting people. Tiga menit pertama kritis sifatnya karena saat itulah kesan pertama terbentuk, lalu ada delapan menit sebelum berpisah—delapan menit ketika senyum, tindak tanduk, dan ekspresi wajah orang tersebut jelas bercerita apakah itu akan jadi awal sesuatu ataukah justru menjadi perpisahan.

Ale dan Anya pertama kali bertemu dalam penerbangan Jakarta-Sydney. Tiga menit pertama Anya terpikat, tujuh jam berikutnya mereka duduk bersebelahan dan saling mengenal lewat percakapan serta tawa, dan delapan menit sebelum berpisah Ale yakin dia menginginkan Anya.

Kini, lima tahun setelah perkenalan itu, Ale dan Anya dihadapkan pada satu tragedi besar yang membuat mereka mempertanyakan pilihan-pilihan yang mereka ambil, termasuk keputusan pada sebelas menit paling penting dalam pertemuan pertama mereka.

Diceritakan bergantian dari sudut pandang Ale dan Anya, setiap babnya merupakan kepingan puzzle yang membuat kita jatuh cinta atau benci kepada karakter-karakternya, atau justru keduanya.

In the aviation world, there’s a term called critical eleven, the most critical eleven minutes inside the plane—three minutes after take off and eight minutes before landing—since statistically eighty percent of the plane crashes occur within the eleven-minute span. It’s when the aircraft is most vulnerable to any danger.

In a way, it’s kinda the same with meeting people. The first three minutes are critical because now the first impression is formed, then there are eight minutes before parting—eight minutes when the smile, behaviour, and expression on the person’s face clearly tell whether it will be the beginning or instead it will be a farewell.Ale and Anya first met on a Jakarta-Sydney flight. The first three minutes, Anya was hooked, the next seven hours they sat side by side and got to know each other through conversation and laughter, and eight minutes before parting, Ale is sure that he wants Anya.

Ale and Anya first met on a Jakarta-Sydney flight. The first three minutes, Anya was hooked, the next seven hours they sat side by side and got to know each other through conversation and laughter, and eight minutes before parting, Ale was sure that he wanted Anya.

Now, five years after their first meeting, Ale and Anya are faced with one major tragedy that made them question the choices they have made, including the decision on the important eleven minutes of their first meeting.

The book is told in turns from Ale’s and Anya’s point of view, each chapter is a puzzle piece that will make us fall in love or hate the characters or even both.


my-opinion

I know I usually review it in English but because this is an Indonesian novel, I will review it in Bahasa Indonesia. But not to worry, for you who want to read this review in English, because I’ve also written it in English. You can scroll down below, after the Indonesian version, to find the English version of this review.

Sebelum masuk ke dalam versi bahasa Inggris, aku akan mulai dalam Bahasa Indonesia terlebih dahulu.

Aku pertama kali membaca Critical Eleven karena ketidaksengajaan. Aku harus menunggu dijemput oleh papaku di toko buku dan karena bosan, aku membaca buku yang tidak tersegel. Mataku menemukan novel ini dan karena aku penasaran, aku pun membacanya. Aku sebenarnya sudah tahu mengenai buku ini sejak lama tapi aku tidak pernah benar-benar tertarik untuk membelinya. Baru ketika aku tak sengaja membaca beberapa halaman awal dari buku ini, aku memutuskan untuk membelinya dan membaca seluruh buku ini. Buku yang bisa membuatmu penasaran hanya dalam waktu singkat adalah tanda bahwa buku tersebut adalah buku yang bagus. Dan menurutku Critical Eleven adalah salah satunya—setidaknya untuk kesan pertama. Plus, Critical Eleven termasuk ke dalam deretan buku bestseller, jadi kupikir ini adalah pertanda yang bagus. Menurutku, judulnya sangat menarik dan sinopsis di belakang buku ini juga cukup membuatku penasaran.

And don’t you just love the heterogeneity of bookstores?  Toko buku itu bukti nyata bahwa keragaman selera itu bisa kumpul di bawah satu atap tanpa harus saling mencela.  Yang suka fiksi, komik, politik, masak memasak, biografi, traveling, semuanya bisa ngumpul di satu toko buku and find their own thing there.  Bookstores are the least discriminative place in the world. Dan itu keren, Le.” – Tanya Baskoro

Untuk beberapa bab pertama, Ika Natassa berhasil membuatku ingin membaca buku ini lagi dan lagi. Pada saat itulah aku berpikir kalau aku sudah membuat keputusan yang benar untuk membeli buku ini. Tidak hanya bab-bab awal saja, tapi sampai akhir buku pun, Critical Eleven telah membuatku terus membalikkan halaman tanpa henti. Meski sebenarnya aku melakukannya lebih karena penasaran daripada ide cerita yang bagus. Ceritanya bagus sampai poin tertentu, di mana aku merasa ceritanya tidak masuk akal dan karakter-karakternya sangat menyebalkan. Maksudku, aku mengerti mengapa Anya—pemeran utama perempuan—merasakan apa yang ia rasakan terhadap Ale—pemeran utama laki-laki. Tapi tetap saja, aku merasa sebal ketika membaca ceritanya. Aku tak mengerti hubungan antara judul dan kisah cinta antara Ale dan Anya. Namun judulnya benar-benar menarik perhatian.

Aku tidak dalam posisi untuk menghakimi situasi Anya karena untungnya, aku tak pernah mengalami hal tersebut. Namun menurut beberapa review yang aku baca, reaksi Anya dalam situasi tersebut tidak masuk akal. Kemarahannya terlalu dibuat-buat. Mungkin dia akan merasa kesal dan sedih, tapi tidak bereaksi terlalu berlebihan seperti yang Anya lakukan. Setidaknya itu yang aku baca dari review-review mengenai buku ini. Seperti yang sudah aku bilang, aku sedang tidak dalam posisi untuk menghakimi situasi Anya. Namun, kalau aku ada situasi tersebut, aku akan marah tapi mungkin tidak seperti Anya. Maksudku, 6 bulan? Yang benar saja. Agak berlebihan sepertinya. Dan mengenai Ale, aku tidak bisa memutuskan kalau dia benar atau salah, tapi kurasa kebanyakan dia benar, kecuali pada bagian di mana dia mengatakan pada Anya mengenai hal yang membuat mereka bertengkar dari awal. Ale berusaha menebus kesalahannya, tapi Anya menolaknya karena dia terlalu keras kepala. Menurutku, hal paling aneh adalah solusinya yang terlalu mudah. Setelah berbulan-bulan, solusinya hanya itu? Ayolah. Aku memang ingin mereka berbaikan, melihat bagaimana Ale mencintai Anya dan Anya juga mencintai Ale. Aku ingin lebih banyak konsolidasi yang terjadi di antara keduanya. Bukan solusi yang sangat sederhana yang seperti diceritakan di buku. Akan tetapi, cerita keseluruhannya cukup memuaskan untuk dibaca.

Sinopsis Critical Eleven memang benar. Kita akan jatuh cinta dan membenci kedua karakter ini. Dan ya, aku merasakan keduanya. Aku jatuh cinta pada satu karakter, dan membenci karakter satunya. Lalu ada suatu waktu ketika aku membenci karakter yang aku cintai dan mencintai karakter yang aku benci. Menarik memang untuk bisa mempermainkan perasaan seperti itu pada pembaca. Critical Eleven memang punya cerita yang bagus dan menarik. Ika Natassa menuliskan setting dan latar belakang cerita yang sangat baik. Mulai dari pekerjaan para karakternya, keluarganya, dan lainnya. Semuanya terasa nyata bagiku, meski beberapa orang merasa itu berlebihan. Maksudku, Ale adalah teknisi perminyakan dan Anya adalah konsultan manajemen. Aku rasa kita bisa setuju kalau keuangan bukan masalah jadi mereka. Jadi, kenapa orang-orang berpikir kalau hadiah-hadiah yang mereka berikan untuk satu sama lain tidak realistis? Aku tidak mengerti.

Sayangnya, sisi kurang dari novel ini adalah akhirnya yang kurang kuat. Bahkan banyak orang yang merasa konfliknya kurang kuat—bukan, bukan ‘kurang kuat’ melainkan salah. Menurutku pribadi, akhirnya cukup kuat, tapi mungkin butuh penelitian lebih. Tapi aku tidak tahu apakah pendapatku benar. Aku suka dengan ide konfliknya, tapi kurasa eksekusinya saja yang keliru. Bukan karena penulisnya yang tidak berpengalaman dalam menulis, tapi mungkin karena penulisnya tidak pernah merasakan apa yang Anya rasakan. Tapi aku harap jangan sampai dia mengalaminya! Serius, tidak ada orang yang harus mengalami pengalaman seperti Anya karena itu terlalu menyedihkan dan menyakitkan.

Meski memiliki banyak kekurangan, aku tidak bisa bilang kalau aku tidak suka buku ini. Tapi aku juga tidak bisa bilang kalau aku suka buku ini. Jadi aku sebenarnya ada di tengah-tengah. Untungnya, Critical Eleven cukup menyenangkan dan menarik untuk dibaca dan aku memang tidak bisa berhenti saat membacanya. Ika Natassa berhasil membuatku terus penasaran dengan buku ini. Aku dengar buku ini akan diangkat menjadi film dan aku cukup antusias akan hal itu. Aku berharap kalau filmnya mampu mengisi kekurangan dari buku ini.

Aku beri Critical Eleven 3 dari 5 bintang.

Anyway, let’s get back to Critical Eleven. This is an Indonesian novel but I will write my review in English. Basically, because I want to make my English better but if you are from Indonesia and hoping that I write this review in Indonesia too, just tell me in the comment below and I will try to write in dual languages.

To tell you the truth, I buy Critical Eleven out of boredom. I was going back home from work, but since my father hasn’t come, I went to my favourite place first, which of course, bookstore! Because there is one bookstore near my office, which is quite exciting, I have to say. I ended up buying two novels, and one of them is Critical Eleven. I buy it because I read a glimpse of the first few pages and kind of curious about it. So I decided to buy Critical Eleven and one other novel. I heard Critical Eleven is a bestseller, so I take it as a yes to buy it. Yep, I am one of those people who buy a book just because they say it was a bestseller. Actually, it’s kind of out of curiosity too. I never really intended to buy this book until I read a glimpse of it. Just a glimpse of it has made me want to read it more. I take it as a sign of a good book. A good book can make the readers want to read the next page and the next page and so on. Aside from the term of Critical Eleven, the synopsis at the back of this novel didn’t really catch my eyes actually. Luckily I am able to read first two or three pages and I became intrigued. And so, I ended up buying it.

“And don’t you just love the heterogeneity of bookstores?  Bookstores are a proof that diversity of tastes can be gathered under one roof without reproaching each other. Those who like fiction, comics, politics, cooking, biography, travelling, everything is gathered in one bookstore and find their own thing there. Bookstores are the least discriminative place in the world. And it’s very cool, Le.” – Tanya Baskoro

The first few chapters, Ika Natassa has succeedingly made me want to read more and more. That’s when I thought I have made the right choice to buy this book. Not only first few chapters but until the end of the book, Critical Eleven has made me want to turn the next page without pause. Although I have to admit later, it’s more of curiosity rather than a good story idea. The story is good at certain points, but there are some points that I think the story doesn’t make any sense and the characters are so bloody annoying. I mean, I get it why, Anya—the main female character—felt the way she felt towards Ale—the main male character. But still, I felt really annoyed when I read the story. I don’t understand the connection between the title and the love story between Ale and Anya. But the title is definitely eye-catching and interesting.

I am in no position to judge about Anya’s situation because fortunately, I have never experienced such a thing. But according to some reviews that I’ve read, Anya’s reaction to the situation isn’t reasonable at all. Anya’s anger was too made up. Perhaps she would feel angry and sad, but not overreacting. So, they say. Like I said, I am in no experience of Anya’s situation, so I don’t know. However, if I am in that situation, I will be so angry but perhaps not like Anya. I mean, 6 months? Seriously? It’s exaggerating. As for Ale, I can’t decide if he’s right or wrong, but I think he’s mostly right, except the part where he told Anya about the thing that begins their fight. He did try to make amends, but Anya always rejects him because she’s just too stubborn. In my opinion, the weirdest part is that the solution is too easy. After all these months, the solution is just that? Come on. I mean, I want them to get along, seeing how much Ale loves Anya and shockingly, Anya still loves him too. But, I want more consolidation between the two of them. Not just as simple as that kind of solution. However, the overall story is pretty much satisfying to read.

The synopsis of Critical Eleven is right. We will fall in love or hate those two characters. And yes, I actually did both. I fall in love with one, hate the other. And then one time I will hate the one I love and love the one I hate. It’s interesting to stir up the feeling of the readers just like that. Critical Eleven has indeed a good story, a really interesting one. Ika Natassa wrote the setting and the background story really well. Starting from their job, their family, and all. Everything seems real to me, even though some people might find it exaggerating. I mean, Ale is a petroleum engineer and Anya is a management consultant. I think we can agree that their finance is not a problem here. So, why people think their gifts towards each other are too unrealistic? I still don’t understand.

Unfortunately, the downside of this novel is the ending is not strong enough. Even some people said the conflict is not strong enough—no, not ‘not strong enough’ but actually quite wrong enough. I think it is strong enough, but perhaps, more research is needed, perhaps? I don’t know. I really like the conflict idea, but perhaps the execution is just wrong. Not because the writer is inexperienced in writing, but because she never actually felt what Anya has felt. I hope she won’t have to, though! Like seriously, no one should ever experience what has Anya been through. It’s too devastating and sad.

Despite all the flaws, I can’t actually say I don’t like this book. But I also can’t say I love this book either. So I am in between. Fortunately, Critical Eleven is still enjoyable to read and  I definitely can’t stop reading it. Ika Natassa has succeeded in making me curious about the book.  I heard the book is going to be turned into a film and I kind of excited about it. I hope the film can cover the lacks in this book. *fingers-crossed*

Therefore, I will give Critical Eleven 3 out of 5 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

Leave a Reply

