film-information

Title: Inception (2010)
Director: Christopher Nolan
Writer: Christopher Nolan
Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy, Ken Watanabe, Dileep Rao, and Cillian Murphy
Genres: Action, Mystery, Sci-Fi, Thriller
Running Time: 148 minutes
Languages: English, Japanese, French
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence and action throughout
Production Companies: Legendary Pictures, Syncopy
Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures


synopsis

Dom Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio) is a thief with the rare ability to enter people’s dreams and steal their secrets from their subconscious. His skill has made him a hot commodity in the world of corporate espionage but has also cost him everything he loves. Cobb gets a chance at redemption when he is offered a seemingly impossible task: Plant an idea in someone’s mind. If he succeeds, it will be the perfect crime, but a dangerous enemy anticipates Cobb’s every move.


my-opinion

Inception is one of the best films I have ever seen thus far. I think those who have watched this film will agree with me. Before I write any further, I have to warn you that I will write a few spoilers here, so if you haven’t watched the film and don’t want to get spoiled, you must think twice to read my review. You can skip the third paragraph to avoid any spoiler. Well, if you don’t mind, you can keep going on, folks. Inception is truly a great film. In the matter of concept, story, action, and nearly everything, Inception really has nailed it all. The story is a bit confusing but at the same time, it is very smart. It is impossible yet the theory is not entirely impossible. I mean, I know you can’t enter someone else’s dream, but if you can and you can plan some idea to that someone’s mind, it will a great thing to do—or perhaps a great crime to do. A dream within a dream is not something unfamiliar in my life because I have experienced it myself. I dream every single day. I never passed a day without dreaming. Perhaps one or two times but I don’t think I remember the night when I wasn’t dreaming.

Anyway, I am not a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio even though his acting is superb but finally, he won the Oscar last year. Congratulations to him. Everyone says it was about the bloody time he won. I am bit sad and disappointed because Eddie Redmayne didn’t win for his role in The Danish Girl (2015), but I heard Leonardo DiCaprio is just too good in Revenant (2015), which I haven’t watched it myself, so I guess I can’t complain. Anyway, like all others of his films, DiCaprio’s acting in Inception is just great. Although I am a bit confused about his character in this film but DiCaprio managed to embody the character really really well. I also like the idea of seeing Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Ellen Page here. They both did a great job. I think they would make a cute couple in the film. Gordon-Levitt really looks awesome and cool.

“What is the most resilient parasite? Bacteria? A virus? An intestinal worm? An idea. Resilient… highly contagious. Once an idea has taken hold of the brain it’s almost impossible to eradicate. An idea that is fully formed – fully understood – that sticks; right in there somewhere.” – Cobb

This is where I am going to put a few spoilers. Like many others, I am so annoyed with the ending! Why did Christopher Nolan have to give us such an open ending that makes my mind can’t stop thinking about ending it? It was a smart ending, truly, but annoying without complaint. I have to watch it three times or four times to know what’s the meaning of the ending. Some clue that I found when I watched the film are in the end, Cobb didn’t wear his wedding ring, whereas, in the dream, he always wore his wedding ring. Therefore, in the end, he was not dreaming. That’s the first. The second one is the totem started to wobble before they cut into black, that means Cobb was actually in a reality not dream. Well, those two facts are the things that convince me that Cobb was not dreaming at the end of the film. I choose to accept that fact because let’s face it, we all want that ending. Later Christopher Nolan stated that it doesn’t matter if Cobb is dreaming or not because either way he’s chosen to accept it as his reality—and presumably the audience should too. So, yeah, that’s what I am going to do. I will accept that Cobb has accepted his reality. That’s the end of my little spoiler.

In the end, I have to say, great job, Nolan, for giving us a very good film like Inception. It is really one of the best films that you need to watch too. His next film, Interstellar (2014) is also worth to watch too. If you haven’t watched it, you should watch it too. Because the film is also mind-blowing. Christopher Nolan is really a genius. Good job, Nolan! This film is really mind-blowing!

I give Inception 9 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

