manga-information

Title: Hana to Akuma (花と悪魔)
Author: Oto Hisamu
Debut: October 2007
Status: Completed (63 Chapters)
Published: Hakusensha
Edition Language: English
Genre: Comedy, Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Supernatural


synopsis

Fifteen years ago, Vivi, a demon, decided to leave the Demon Realm and come to the human world. One year after arriving in the human world he found an abandoned baby and on a whim decided to keep it. Since then, he has lived together with Hana… but having a fourteen-year-old girl around him wasn’t that simple.


my-opinion

I was looking for a new manga to read when I accidentally found Hana to Akuma. I immediately attracted to the title. I understand Japanese a little bit and I do know what Hana to Akuma means. When I looked at its cover, I was thinking the drawing is kind of good and that’s why I read the synopsis and start reading this manga. I must say, I don’t regret it at all. Hana to Akuma has a really funny story. I kind literally laugh out loud at some points. The way the characters talked and their expressions are just too funny! I really like a story that can make me laugh because it is very much entertaining. What I love aside about Hana to Akuma aside from the comedy is the fact that Vivi and Hana are very sweet. The romance is not exaggerating but sweet enough for you to love the love story. It’s sweet, funny, and cute at the same time.

“They’re weak, fragile, fleeting. That is precisely why flowers shine so brightly for that one moment. And that is precisely why demons are so attracted to flowers.” – The Demon King, Lucifer

The overall story of Hana to Akuma is pretty simple. A demon who went to earth and found a baby girl. At first, he was annoyed with her, but in time he decided to raise her and named her as Hana and as Hana grows up, she and Vivi became closer. Hana always following him around with a smile and Vivi became emotionally attached to her and afraid to loose her. By the time the story starts, Hana was only 14 years old, which basically not old enough to have a love story with Vivi, a demon who actually has lived for hundreds of years. However, the author has made a smart decision by not showing to much romance in the beginning. Oto Hisamu made us fall in love with Vivi and Hana slowly so when the time was right, we won’t mind about the relationship between Vivi and Hana. Vivi was very protective towards Hana. He’d do anything to make Hana happy or stop crying. Vivi really knew everything about Hana. It’s very sweet to see them like that.

What’s more interesting is the fact that Oto Hisamu used the idea of demons as the main story. I think it’s very interesting. Usually, demons are portrayed as evil and manipulative and so on, but this time, the author brought them differently. I think that is why Hana to Akuma is very interesting. Don’t get me wrong, I am not devil worshipper or anything close to that sort of things but sometimes, a new perspective story is something that you need in the sea of sameness. Telling a story about angels is pretty much a cliché. There are many stories about angels. However, it’s not so often you’ll meet a story where the main character and the main protagonist is the demon. Even Lucifer in this story was described differently and very much funny as well. It’s kind of refreshing.

Vivi is a duke in the Demon World and is the strongest candidate to be the next demon king, replacing Lucifer. I have to say, Vivi is very handsome for a manga character. He reminded me quite a lot with Kuran Kaname from Vampire Knight. I think the fact that the drawings of this manga are really good that Vivi ended up looking very handsome. Plus with that immense power that Vivi has, he looks very cool! Pretty much like Kaname. Although Kaname is more serious all times, Vivi can be very funny at some times. His funny and lazy expressions can make you smile when you read the manga. And when he smiles, well, as a girl, I found it very appealing. Aside from Vivi, Hana is also being drawn beautifully, especially when she was in her older age. The other characters are also being drawn beautifully but somehow my best interest goes to Vivi. Possibly because I love his character in this manga. Just like I love Kaname in Vampire Knight.

It’s hard to hate any character in this manga because the author really made each of the characters has something really funny about them. I guess that’s a good thing. I know you must have thought if everyone was good, then what’s the conflict? Believe me, there is. It’s a bigger conflict than making any character in this manga hateable.

So, to sum up everything, I think Hana to Akuma is a good manga with a good story. Great story actually. Do I like the ending? Maybe. Maybe not. But it’s very fitting and more make sense. However, the overall story is very entertaining, you will definitely smile or even laugh along the way.

Therefore, I give Hana to Akuma 4 out of 5 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

