film-information

Title: Moana (2016)
Directors: Ron Clements, John Musker
Writer: Jared Bush
Story by: Ron Clements, John Musker, Chris Williams, Don Hall, Pamela Ribon, Aaron and Jordan Kandell
Cast: Auli’i Cravalho, Dwayne Johnson, Rachel House, Temuera Morrison, Jemaine Clement, Nicole Scherzinger, Alan Tudyk, Oscar Kightley, Troy Polamalu, Puanani Cravalho, and Louise Bush
Genres: Animation, Adventure, Comedy, Family, Fantasy, Musical
Running Time:  103 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG for peril, some scary images and brief thematic elements
Production Companies: Walt Disney Pictures, Walt Disney Animation Studios
Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures


synopsis

A sweeping, CG-animated adventure about a spirited teenager who sails out on a daring mission to prove herself a master Wayfinder and fulfil her ancestors’ unfinished quest. During her journey, Moana meets the once-mighty demigod Maui, and together, they traverse the open ocean on an action-packed voyage, encountering enormous fiery creatures and impossible odds.


my-opinion

It’s been awhile since I last watched animation film. The last animation film that I watched is The Secret Life of Pets (2016). Like I said before, I am not really interested in watching animation film in the theatre but since Moana is a Disney film, I decided to watch it with my sister. I really love Disney films and that’s why I agree to accompany her this time. I must say, I don’t regret my decision. Moana is truly a beautiful film!

In a matter of the story, the plot is pretty much something that we all can guess pretty easily. A heroine trying to save her home and fights the evil alongside a demigod. It’s pretty cliché and we can all guess the outcome pretty easily. However, it’s the journey that counts and what messages they want to give to us. It is no doubt that Disney can always deliver great messages to the audiences. The moral lessons that they give are just amazing and more importantly, inspiring to the viewers especially younger audiences. Disney has truly made an animated fairy tales combined with folk tales in a modern touch. However, unlike the previous fairy tales such as Sleeping Beauty (1950) or Beauty and the Beast (1991) or Tangled (2010) or Frozen (2013) which involve a love story, this time Moana doesn’t give any love story. Instead, it gives us a friendship. And what I like about Moana is that the film doesn’t take another kingdom fairy tales story but they choose to make it more traditional with a cultural and mythology touch. The adventure in the film is so thrilling and exciting. Without a doubt, you can also find some funny scenes and jokes among the film. There are some beautiful songs that you can hear along the way too.

“Do you know who Maui is? Only the greatest demigod of all the Pacific Islands, with his magical fish hook he slowed down the sun, pulled islands out of the sea, battled monsters! And I should know, because I am Maui!” – Maui

What’s more breathtaking is in fact, the animation picture. I mean, I know all the Disney films’ animations are good but somehow Moana delivers a very beautiful one. The addition of the beautiful scenery instead of city or castles makes the animation looks even more brilliant and stunning. I mean, the sea and the islands look incredibly. It Everything in Moana is very colourful, very beautiful, very mesmerising. I also like the way they drew the people. They look incredibly awesome. Moana is drawn very beautifully indeed! I guess Moana will be the new princess heroine for all the young girls. She may not be a princess like all other Disney princesses that we’ve all known, but she is definitely inspiring and worth the title.

Auli’i Cravalho has definitely succeeded in voicing Moana. And as for Maui, you won’t even think other people that can fit the role. Dwayne Johnson is just the right pick. He is hilarious and that’s what Maui is all about. To my surprise, Dwayne Johnson also has a good voice. Yes, he also sings in this film. As for Auli’i Cravalho, truly, she really has a great voice! I believe she will be a great actress and singer in the future.

I wish Pua, the pig, is shown more in the film instead of Heihei, the chicken. Pua is just so adorable and so cute! Heihei is funny but I can’t lie that Pua is cuter. However, Heihei is funny in its own way and can really entertain the audiences. It is so ridiculous that can make we all laugh. I think Pua is the cutest animal sidekick character as a pet and Heihei is the dumbest. Don’t get me wrong. Heihei may be dumb but he still can deliver a good laugh to the audiences. Meeko from Pocahontas (1995) used to be the cutest, but I guess his position has been replaced by Pua. But then again, there are so many Disney films with sidekick characters. It’s hard to choose which one is the cutest. Percy from Pocahontas, Sven and Olaf from Frozen (2013), Gus from Cinderella (1950), Maximus from Tangled (2010), Flounder from The Little Mermaid (1989), Genie from Aladdin (1992), and many more. There are so many cute sidekick characters from Disney. It’s indeed hard to choose which one is the cutest. Nevertheless, Pua has indeed joined the list of the cutest.

Moana is definitely a breathtaking animation film with all the beautiful pictures they can offer. Seriously, it is beautiful in every way. It is also so adorable to see the interactions between the strong-willed girl, Moana, and the hilariously self-obsessed demigod, Maui. Yes, no romance between them, just a beautiful friendship that develops along the way. After all these years providing romance stories, Moana is truly refreshing to see. Not that I’m saying I don’t like romance because I do love romance. However, if they want to give lessons to young girls out there, they shouldn’t take romance all the times. Because in my opinion, friendship always comes first before they know about romance, right?

All in all, Disney has given us a truly amazing film this time. Everything about Moana is beautiful. The animation, the scenery, the story, even the songs. Moana is truly a remarkable animation film, not just for children but adults can also enjoy watching Moana.

I give 8.5 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

