book-information

Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay
Author: J. K. Rowling
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 18 November 2016
Edition Language: English
Pages: 304 pages
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Screenplay, Young Adult


synopsis

J.K. Rowling invites you to explore a new era of the Wizarding World…

Explorer and Magizoologist Newt Scamander has just completed a round-the-globe trip in search of the most rare and unusual magical creatures. Arriving in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when Newt’s case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape into the city, it spells trouble for everyone…

J.K. Rowling’s screenwriting debut is captured in this exciting hardcover edition of the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay.

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf.


my-opinion

I am so excited about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay for months. Just like when I was so excited about the film. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016) is a great film indeed and I expect nothing less from the book. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay is a light book and I believe I can finish reading it in just a day or two. However, I happened to be watching The K2 (2016) first and therefore, I didn’t read this book first.

I expect Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay is more precise and explained many things that are unexplainable. I get some explanations but not much. Too few, actually, but still it is a great book. I personally suggest you watch the film first before reading the book. It’s good for imagining things when you read the book if you have watched the film. However, if you are not really a Potterhead, I don’t think you want to read the book after you watch the film. Not to spoil anything, but Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay is indeed a film script given a cover. It is in fact, a film screenplay so you can’t expect more than that. It’s not a novel like the previous Harry Potter books we have read before. It is truly a screenplay.

“New York is considerably more interesting than I expected.” Newt Scamander

Despite expecting more, I truly feel amazed with J. K. Rowling. I mean, she used to write a novel and now she deflects to a screenplay. It’s not an easy thing to do. I mean, in a novel, you will write everything really descriptive. Everything is explained thoroughly in a narrative way. In a screenplay, you must explain everything briefly yet at the same time already explained everything. You won’t be able to do it in a narrative way anymore. However, J. K. Rowling seemed to not having that problem at all. She is still able to write everything very detailed. She’s just awesome.

When you read the book, you’ll know how much Eddie Redmayne was very dedicated during the filming. There are some scenes that weren’t described much but somehow Eddie Redmayne can do it in totality. For example, the mating dance scene isn’t described very detailed in the book but somehow when I watched the film, I can see how serious Eddie Redmayne in playing his role. I think he really suits the role and I can’t think of any other actors who can play Newt Scamander. He’s just great. Besides Eddie Redmayne, I think the design production team have really done a great job. They can really make everything describes by J. K. Rowling real. It’s just awesome. Anyway, since I am not here to discuss the film, let’s move on.

Jacob: Tell me—has anyone ever believed you when you told them not to worry?
Newt: My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.

I wish there are some differences between the film and the book, or to be exact some additional information. There are, but I think it’s just not much. Perhaps because I am very used to the fact that Harry Potter books have always more information and more scenes than the film, that is why when I found about this original screenplay, I kind of not used to it. Nonetheless, the book is still interesting to me. It is so J. K. Rowling. Somehow I get more of Rowling from this book than Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.  Regardless, both books have treated our longing for the Wizarding World. I am so excited to see another period of time from the Wizarding World. I just can’t wait to read the second book of the original screenplay. I wish it would be a novel next, but I don’t think so. In any case, I am still happy to have another chance visiting the Wizarding World.

J. K. Rowling is just an awesome author. No wonder she is one of my favourite authors. She really has great imaginations. All the names of the magical beasts and terms were made up by her. Super creative! I don’t know how she did it. The spells are still there. It’s truly a treat for my longing—Potterhead’s longing. J. K. Rowling is just incredible. I kind find another word to describe her. She is just too awesome. I am speechless. I can’t believe she can develop a textbook of Harry Potter into a major story like this. If you first read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, the textbook one, you wouldn’t have imagined that it will have an extraordinary story like this one. But then again, it’s J. K. Rowling we’re talking about. There’s always a background story in everyone in her world.

Aside from the story, I like the pictures added to it. They look beautiful. The design c0ver is bloody awesome!! Even the material is so smooth and very good to touch. I even love the hidden Niffler under the cover. If you read the UK version, you’ll find the Niffler under the main cover. I don’t know about the US version, but I was told that mine was UK version. The Niffler is placed on the hardcover with gold ink. So beautiful! 😍

I wish this book is a novel and has more additional information in it. Regardless, it is still a great great book and I love love it so much!

Hence, I give Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay 4.5 out of 5 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,brenda-rochelle

