film-information

Title: Steve Jobs (2015)
Director: Danny Boyle
Writer: Aaron Sorkin
Based on: Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Cast: Michael Fassbender, Kate Winslet, Seth Rogen, Jeff Daniels, Michael Stuhlbarg, and Katherine Waterston
Genres: Biography, Drama
Running Time: 122 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated R for language
Production Companies: Legendary Pictures, Scott Rudin Productions, Mark Gordon Company, Entertainment 360, Decibel Films, Cloud Eight Films
Distributed by: Universal Pictures


synopsis

With public anticipation running high, Apple Inc. co-founders Steve Jobs (Michael Fassbender) and Steve “Woz” Wozniak get ready to unveil the first Macintosh in 1984. Jobs must also deal with personal issues related to ex-girlfriend Chrisann Brennan and their young daughter Lisa. Eventually fired, Jobs launches NeXT Inc. and prepares to release a new computer model in 1988. Ten years later, Jobs is back at Apple Inc. and about to revolutionise the industry once again with the iMac.


my-opinion

Four words. Michael Fassbender is awesome! It’s like watching the real late Steve Jobs alive, especially during the act three. He may not physically look like Steve Jobs, but I really get the image from Fassbender. What’s more awesome is the fact that he didn’t have his script during rehearsal. He actually memorised all the lines in act three. Isn’t he wonderful? No wonder he’s also nominated for Best Actor in Academy Awards and competing with Eddie Redmayne for his role The Danish Girl (2015). The film shows us the other side of Steve Jobs. We all knew him when he launched his Apple product, but what we didn’t know about him was how was he behind Apple. This film explained some of his achievements and failures for his legendary iMac. I now know his relationship and more of Steve Jobs’ character. Kate Winslet who played as Joanna Hoffman, Jobs’ closest confidante, has also done a good job as a supporting actress.

“You didn’t have seconds, you had three weeks. The universe was created in a third of that time.”Steve Jobs

The story itself happened a little bit too fast and too quick. The dialogue happened faster than my brain can process, seriously, it did happen, I am not joking around. It’s like I cannot allow myself to blink because it all happened so fast. I didn’t even understand some of the terms they used in Steve Jobs. Let’s face it, I was not very good at IT or computer terms. I still don’t. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the film because I did enjoy it very much. You still can enjoy the film or understand the story even though you might confuse with some computer terms, even if you are not a computer person. You just have to be more focus and paying more attention to the story. However, I really want to see more of Steve Jobs, more of his stories, more of his relationship with his daughter, just more of him. But I think this film already explain how great Jobs was. There’s no one like him. I am an Apple product freak myself, so I really like Steve Jobs a lot even before this film. Too bad he has passed away because he’s one of the greatest people in this century. He’s a genius and a legend, now and forever. His inventions have changed the world forever, that’s true. We all missed him, didn’t you? Anyway, back to the film, I have my favourite quotes in this film as well. You don’t have to worry, it’s not going to spoil anything.

Joel Pforzheimer: Andy said it was okay to come back.
Steve Jobs: Which one?
Joel Pforzheimer: Andy Cunningham
Steve Jobs: [look pretty annoyed] I can’t do this forever. I need one of them to change their name.
Joanna Hoffman: You call Andy Cunningham “Andrea”.
Steve Jobs: It doesn’t matter what I call them. I know who I’m talking about when I’m talking. I need everyone else to call them different names.

So apparently, there are two Andy(s) that Jobs and his colleagues knew, which are Andy Hertzfeld and Andy Cunningham. It was pretty funny when they are confused between those two Andy(s). Seriously, I am not kidding. There are some other scenes that also pretty funny. So yep, despite talking about the founding of Apple or how intense the competition was, we still get some funny stuff as well.

I haven’t watched other films about Steve Jobs, but this film is seriously good. I really do enjoy the film and I really like it despite some flaws the film has. I think Steve Jobs is really worth to watch after all.

I give Steve Jobs 8 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

