film-information

Title: The Danish Girl (2015)
Director: Tom Hooper
Writer: Lucinda Coxon
Based on: The Danish Girl by David Ebershoff
Cast: Eddie Redmayne, Alicia Vikander, Matthias Schoenaerts, Adrian Schiller, Amber Heard, Sebastian Koch
Genres: Biography, Drama, Romance
Running Time: 119 minutes
Languages: English, French, German
MPAA Rating: Rated R for some sexuality and full nudity
Production Companies: Working Title, Pretty Pictures, Artemis Productions, Revision Pictures, Senator Global Productions
Distributed by: Focus Features (United States), Universal Pictures (International)


synopsis

A fictitious love story loosely inspired by the lives of Danish artists Einar Wegener/Lili Elbe and Gerda Wegener. Lili (Eddie Redmayne) and Gerda’s (Alicia Vikander) marriage and work evolve as they navigate Lili’s groundbreaking journey as a transgender pioneer.


my-opinion

Truly, you can never expect less from an Academy Awards winner, Eddie Redmayne. After his extraordinary role in The Theory of Everything (2014), now he played the role of Einar Wegener/Lili Elbe in The Danish Girl.  He is really awesome. Super awesome. The way he moved, the way he talked, the way he blinked, the way he brought himself are perfection. I just can’t understand how could he do that? I’m in a total awe. Call me exaggerated, but I think that’s the fact. I can’t expect less from my favourite actor indeed. Eddie Redmayne is such a talented actor. No wonder he’s nominated again for Golden Globe Awards, Academy Awards, even SAG Awards and BAFTA Awards. Isn’t he just amazing? Even though he didn’t win anything—the fact that made me devastated even though I know Leonardo DiCaprio was amazing—it is still very awesome to be nominated in two consecutive years. Not every actor can do that anyway. The Danish Girl is based on the novel of the same title by David Ebershoff. The story itself is fictional but it is based on the real life of two artists, Einar Wegener and his wife, Gerda Wegener. It is really inspiring to all transgenders out there, literally. I mean, what they’ve been through must be hard and I think this film really inspires.

From the beginning, Eddie Redmayne’s performance is just incredible. He could bring himself more feminine rather than masculine. I don’t know how could he look like a woman and even sound so womanly. Everything he did is so woman. It’s just flawless, at least to me. There are little things that only a woman will do and somehow he knew it and applied it to his character, Lili Elbe. He really knew how to be a woman. I think there’s no huge gap or transition when Eddie Redmayne’s character changed from Einar Wegener to Lili Elbe because he somehow managed to make his character looks a bit like androgyny. I think it is amazing and not easy to be done with and Eddie Redmayne just did it amazingly. Alicia Vikander’s acting is also good and even has more lines than Redmayne. But she’s only nominated for supporting role and there has been much debate about it. But I think it’s worth it since she actually won the Oscar anyway.

“I love you, because you are the only person who made sense of me. And made me, possible.”Einar Wegener

I don’t know what did Denmark look like in the 1930s, but I think the film has shown a great setting. Even the costume looks beautiful as well. The story itself is not entirely based on the real life Einar Wegener and his wife, as I said before. Some story is changed or modified. I did read the difference between the film—and the book—with the real life event. There are some huge differences here and there, but I think that is okay. The main plot is still the same and they have made a very beautiful film after all. The Danish Girl managed to explain to us how Einar Wegener felt at that time. Being a transgender must not be easy and not as open as now, so he really had gone through a lot of things. Eddie Redmayne succeeds to translate those feelings with his great acting skills. As an audience, I can actually feel how he felt and how his wife, Gerda, felt too. They both have shown us a great chemistry. So yep, they deserved a praise. I kind of not like the ending, though, because I think they can give us more. At some points, things happened too quick. However, the overall story of The Danish Girl is great and beautiful and I genuinely like it.

So, all in all, The Danish Girl is a fantastic film. A great film that you must watch at least once. Eddie Redmayne is just so amazing despite not winning the awards. Being nominated is already great enough, especially back-to-back since last year he’s also nominated and win. Cheers to him and Alicia Vikander! 😁

I give The Danish Girl 8 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

