film-information

Title: Jack Reacher: Never Go Back (2016)
Director: Edward Zwick
Writers: Richard Wenk, Edward Zwick, Marshall Herskovitz
Based on: Never Go Back by Lee Child
Cast: Tom Cruise, Cobie Smulders, Aldis Hodge, Danika Yarosh, Patrick Heusinger, Holt McCallany, Judd Lormand, Madalyn Horcher, Jessica Stroup, and Robert Catrini
Genres: Action, Adventure, Crime, Mystery, Thriller
Running Time:  118 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence and action, some bloody images, language and thematic elements
Production Companies: Skydance Media, TC Productions
Distributed by: Paramount Pictures


synopsis

Set four years after the events of the first film, Investigator Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise) is returning to the headquarters of his old military unit. He comes to meet Major Susan Turner (Cobie Smulders) who has been working with him on solving cases across the country. Upon his arrival, he is informed that Turner is accused of espionage. Suspecting foul play, Jack embarks on a mission to prove that the head of his old unit is innocent. After crossing paths with the law, Reacher must now go on the lam to uncover the truth behind a major government conspiracy that involves the death of U.S. soldiers.


my-opinion

After all these years, Tom Cruise can never cease to amaze me. With his stunning action, Tom Cruise has brought Jack Reacher: Never Go Back to success. It’s been 4 years since the first film was released. Jack Reacher (2012) is an awesome film and that is why I expect something bigger this time. Tom Cruise played the main character, Jack Reacher. He is more than 50 years old now, but he definitely looks far from 50 years old. Well not that far, though. However, to think a 54-years-old guy like him can still do all those runnings and fightings and stunts, you just can’t stop feeling amazed.

The first thing that comes to find when I saw Tom Cruise and Cobie Smulders running in the film is how awesome Cobie Smulders is. I mean, Tom Cruise is built to run like that, but Cobie? I don’t know. I mean, I’ve seen her in The Avengers (2012) or Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014), or Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015). She did some actions there, but I don’t think it included running as hell like in this film. And then I saw her tweet which basically said, “So much fun making Jack Reacher with Tom Cruise, but so much running Tommy. Just so much running…” and I just feel that it was hilarious. I guess she’s having hard times too to keep up with Tom Cruise. However, she really did a great job. I didn’t see her having hard times, so she really pulled it off. Thumbs up for Cobie Smulders. As for Tom Cruise, well, what more can I say, right?

“You’re a legend. Folks wonder why you left. Purple Heart, Silver Star. There is this big dent desk, people say you made it with someone’s head.”Susan Turner

The interesting part of Cobie Smulders in this film is that she swore with British swore words. I’ve seen a lot of films, though I am not an expert, I did know some swore words that basically only be said by British people. When she said it in the film, all I ever thought was what a funny choice of swear words. Not literally funny, I mean Cobie Smulders’s character is supposed to be American, so it’s kind of unusual that she used British swear words. Only later on did I find out that she’s half British. I guess that’s where she got the words. I don’t think it’s a mistake in the making. However, I do find it interesting.

As for the story, it’s great and some humour in it. I know, how come there’s humour in this kind of film. But do believe me, I chuckled several times when I watched it. The story is good but kind of confusing to me. Even though I like the action, I still prefer the first film. I think the first film has a better storyline and twisted plot, unlike this film. However, Jack Reacher: Never Go Back is still a good film and worth your time to watch. Tom Cruise definitely will entertain you for the whole 118 minutes.

So, to summarise everything, Jack Reacher: Never Go Back is definitely a good film. Tom Cruise really knows what he’s doing. I look forward to another of his film.

I give Jack Reacher: Never Go Back 8 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

