film-information

Title: Inferno (2016)
Director: Ron Howard
Writer: David Koepp
Based on: Inferno by Dan Brown
Cast: Tom Hanks, Felicity Jones, Sidse Babett Knudsen, Ben Foster, Ana Ularu, Irrfan Khan, Omar Sy, and Ida Darvish
Genres: Action, Adventure, Crime, Drama, Mystery, Thriller
Running Time: 121 minutes
Language: English, Italian
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for sequences of action and violence, disturbing images, some language, thematic elements, and brief sensuality
Production Companies: Imagine Entertainment, LStar Capital
Distributed by: Columbia Pictures


synopsis

Famous symbologist Robert Langdon (Tom Hanks) follows a trail of clues tied to Dante, the great medieval poet. When Langdon wakes up in an Italian hospital with amnesia, he teams up with Sienna Brooks (Felicity Jones), a doctor he hopes will help him recover his memories. Together, they race across Europe and against the clock to stop a madman (Ben Foster) from unleashing a virus that could wipe out half of the world’s population.


my-opinion

After watching  The Da Vinci Code (2006) and Angels & Demons (2009), I know I will watch another extraordinary story from Inferno. Unlike the other two films, I haven’t read the book in which this film is based on, so I am totally blind about the story of this film. But I do have such high hopes for this film. Let’s face it, the previous two films are spectacular, that’s why I hope for more this time.

Unfortunately, Inferno doesn’t fulfil my high hopes. I prefer the previous films anyway. I am not saying that this film is bad, it’s just the previous two films are better. I don’t know why but lately I am either watching a film or reading a book of human annihilation. I don’t know if it’s because our world has become that dangerous or it’s just the latest story trend. Inferno is no different. I guess the title itself already explain the film. To tell you the truth, I haven’t heard the term of inferno before Dan Brown wrote the book nor do I know about Dante. Only by then do I know that Inferno can mean hell.

“The greatest sins in human history were committed in the name of love.” – Robert Langdon

In a matter of the story idea, I don’t particularly like it. I am not a fan of Armageddon type of film anyway. The mystery—the puzzles are not as thrilling as I was hoping for. I wish they made more puzzles like in The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons. Although running to solve the puzzles and chase the bad guys are still in the film, they are just not as thrilling and as exciting as before. Not many actions are shown in the film and chasing the bad guys is not as exciting as I was hoping for. However, there are things that became quite a turnout. I would never even guess. I don’t know if it’s me who wasn’t paying attention or the story is indeed can’t be predicted. If it’s the later, Inferno has indeed an awesome plot. But I think it’s the later, though. Because Dan Brown has always had unpredictable stories. By all means, you can see the previous films or read the books to prove how smart and clever Dan Brown is.

What I like about Inferno is the setting. The scenery, the building, all the locations are all magnificent. I always love European buildings and to have a chance seeing them in this film is just awesome. The buildings look great and classic. And since I love classic things, I am super excited to see all the places took place in this film. I’m in awe throughout the films because of the setting.

Tom Hanks as Professor Robert Langdon is just great. I can’t imagine another actor played the character of Professor Langdon. He’s just great. Professor Langdon still hasn’t lost his touch but since there aren’t many puzzles to solve in the film, I saw less of his smart brain. He is indeed looked cooler in The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons. Nonetheless, it doesn’t lessen how great Tom Hank’s acting was. As for Felicity Jones, her acting is great. I’ve known her ever since she played the role Jane Hawking in The Theory of Everything (2014), and she is indeed a great actress. No wonder she got a nomination for Oscar. She looks beautiful too. Somehow, her face is kind of classic and unique. There’s something about her that makes her unforgettable. It’s a shame to say that when I didn’t even notice her in The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014).

All in all, Inferno is not a bad film, but it is not a great film like The Da Vinci Code or Angels & Demons. In Inferno, solving the mystery is not the main idea anymore. Stopping the annihilation of the human being is—which by the way, not my favourite story. Nevertheless, you can still enjoy Inferno. I sure did.

Therefore, I give Inferno 7 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

