Prosecutor Princess (2010) | TV Series Review


Title: Prosecutor Princess (프검사린세스 or Geomsa Peurinseseu) (2010)
Cast: Kim So-Yeon, Park Si-Hoo, Han Jung-Soo, Choi Song-Hyun, Yoo Gun, Park Jung-Ah, Choi Sung-Ho, Lee Eun-Hee, Lee Seung-Hyung, Kim Sang-Ho, Choi Jung-Woo, Yang Hee-Kyung, Min Young-Won, Lee Jong-Suk, Sung Byung-Sook, Kim Ji-Won, and Suwoo Jae-Duk
Country of Origin: South Korea
Original Language(s): Korean
No. of Series: 1
No. of Episodes: 16
Genre: Comedy, Legal Drama, Romance
Running Time: 60 minutes
Original Network: Seoul Broadcasting System (SBS)


synopsis

After Ma Hye-Ri passes the bar exam, she discovers that her love of fashion and dislike of overtime interferes with her ability to carry out her duties a public prosecutor. She faces opposition from contemptuous colleagues and exasperated superiors. With her career on a downward spiral, she enlists the help of mysterious attorney Seo In-Woo.


my-opinion

Prosecutor Princess is the second Korean drama that I watched that tells about prosecutors. The first one being I Can Hear Your Voice (2013). I think Prosecutor Princess doesn’t have many complicated laws as in I Can Hear Your Voice. There aren’t many cases and many courts session, to begin with. I don’t know if I have to feel satisfied with it or not since I don’t particularly understand South Korean’s law. The story of Prosecutor Princess is mainly about Ma Hye-Ri. How she grows up from a spoilt Prosecutor to a more mature one. The main conflict is actually more than that. It’s something bigger and more complicated, though it wasn’t revealed until in the middle of the series. Out of 16 episodes, I think I began to understand what’s going on in episode 10? Or something like that. There are no introductions or whatsoever, making me confused what’s actually the main whole conflict. Some clues are given but I don’t think them as clues either because everything is such a blur and not quite intriguing my curiosity. However, I am not saying the story isn’t good enough because I really do find Prosecutor Princess interesting. Maybe boring at first, but not afterwards anyway.

“How many people are there who do it because they like it? They do these things to feed themselves, to live and not to die. Living is just like that. Who are you to do the things you like or find funny?”Seo In-Woo

I like the way Seo In-Woo treat Hye-Ri. Somehow it is very sweet. You can’t say it as romantic, but his actions are definitely pretty sweet. Although it’s quite confusing at first because somehow their interaction and relationship happen so fast. What I don’t like is again, the ending of this TV series. Not that I hate it,  I just don’t like it. It seems to me they were fast-forwarding the story to end. There aren’t many explanations about the relationship between In-Woo and Hye-Ri. I need more of it! However, I am giving my applaud to Kim So-Yeon. She really looks so different compared to when she played the character of Kim Seon-Hwa in IRIS (2009). They are just like two different people played by two different actresses. I guess that what makes a great actress. Because they can be two, even more, different people in different movies. I have never seen Park Si-Hoo’s dramas before he played the role of Seo In-Woo here, but I think he’s a good actor too. He really gets the mysterious part of In-Woo and also the sweet part. I kind of like him.

I am surprised to see Lee Jong-Suk here. He looks so young and his role isn’t as big as when he played I Can’t Hear Your Voice or Pinocchio (2014). I must say he has improved a lot since Prosecutor Princess. His acting is more natural now. Not that he’s not natural in Prosecutor Princess, but I’m just saying, he is much better in his later dramas. And then there’s also Yoo Gun, who played as one of the prosecutors. I have to say, he is really really handsome. Although it’s too bad he only plays small roles. He even showed as a cameo in That Winter, the Wind Blows (2013) and Hotel King (2014). I wish he could play a much bigger role. He is really really handsome.

So, apart from the ending, I think Prosecutor Princess is a good TV series. It’s worth to watch and kind of funny at some point too.

I give Prosecutor Princess 7.5  out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

2 thoughts on “Prosecutor Princess (2010) | TV Series Review”

Leave a Reply

