Do I believe in magic? Of course, I do! I really do believe in magic, no matter what other people say or think. I know it’s kind of unbelievable, but I believe it, or at least I really wish magic does exist in this world. Not the kind of magic abakadraba in a circus show or magic tricks like the one in Now You See Me 2 (2016)—though that kind of magic is indeed pretty cool—or the kind of magic like David Copperfield. Because let’s face it, all it needs are tricks. And the magic that I really wish to exist is more of magic like in Harry Potter or Merlin (2008-2012) or even in anime like Cardcaptor Sakura (1998).

In Harry Potter world, you can travel around the world easily in an instant. You can apparate or disapparate anywhere. This method of teleportation is called apparition. Or perhaps you can also travel with a broomstick. It sounds fun, right? In Merlin’s world, you can’t travel like that. You must travel normally. With horse or by walking. If you are a dragon lord like Merlin, you can ride a dragon. But that’s it. So yeah, there’s a positive and negative in each world. It’s cool to use magic with a wand like in Harry Potter world, but doing magic with your eyes changing colour is pretty cool as well. It’s hard to choose which one is better than the other because both kinds of magic are really fun to do.

You can do anything with magic. Kind of literally. But you can’t make dead people alive anymore because it’s against the law of nature, so it’s kind of impossible. Well, even though you can, there’s a deep price that you must pay if you want to raise people from the death. Necromancy, that’s what they called it. But of course, the person you’ve risen from the death won’t be the same person. So, the answer is still no. It’s not like I’m interested in that kind of stuff anyway. It’s too dark magic. I didn’t say it because I’ve read it once. I’ve said it because I’ve read it so many times about this kind of magic. Therefore, this is not the kind of magic that I want to have. I want a light magic, good magic. Like Hermione Granger’s or Merlin’s or even Gandalf in The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit—though I think Professor Dumbledore from Harry Potter is way more powerful than him.

There are so many forms of magic that I’ve read and watched, Harry Potter and Merlin are two examples. Other types of magic are shown in Once Upon a Time (TV series), The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel (novel), Witches of East End (novel and TV series), Cardcaptor Sakura (anime),  Fairy Tail (anime), Wagamama Fairy Mirumo de pon! (anime), 07-Ghost (anime), and many more. There are too many on the list and they are all so different but somehow, nothing is like Harry Potter. J. K. Rowling really nailed it. Harry Potter has become memorable and worldwide known. Now, who doesn’t know about Harry Potter? I even a fan of Harry Potter—please don’t judge me, um, on second thoughts, judge me anyway, I don’t care, I am a fan and that’s all that matter—LOL 😂.

Before I met Harry Potter, my first magic experience is actually from an anime named Cardcaptor Sakura (1998). I think if you’re born in the 90s, you probably have seen the anime or read the manga. It’s different from Harry Potter or Merlin because unlike them, the magic in Cardcaptor Sakura comes in a form of cards named Clow Cards. To activate the cards, you’ll need a key. I think that kind of magic is already so cool to whoever watched it then. One of my favourite cards is The Fly because, with that card, you can, of course, fly. Pretty much something that I really want to do. However, other Clow Cards are also very much interesting.

Some of the most powerful Clow Cards

Because of my beliefs in magic, I always love fantasy story, whether it’s novel or film, I just love fantasy genre. I like any kind of fantasy genre and if it includes magic, I love it even more. Even the kind of magic like in Vampire Knight (anime and manga) or Gakuen Alice (anime and manga) or Inuyasha (anime and manga) or UFO Baby (anime and manga). Well, you can’t say they have magic but more of supernatural power. I guess I really into magic and supernatural things. I’m thinking of writing a fantasy novel myself but I’m still developing my ideas. I am not sure it will happen, but let’s hope it is soon enough. I have still a lot on my plate and I even haven’t finished my first novel yet. I really hope I can finish it sooner rather later.

Anyway, it’s always fun to talk about magic. With so many things to explore, I am sure there are many kinds of magic that I haven’t read or watch. Nonetheless, so far, I’ve known quite many that I am really interested in learning. But of course, it’s just a dream that will never come true. Let’s face it, there is no kind of magic like Harry Potter or Merlin or Cardcaptor Sakura. It’s all just a fantasy. Yet, I still believe in them! I guess that’s because I like imagining things and magic is the kind of thing that makes my imaginations strong. So, despite how unreal magic is, I still believe in it. Truly. How about you? Do you believe in magic?

😘   Toodle-oo,

