Suicide Squad (2016) | Film Review


Title: Suicide Squad (2016)
Director: David Ayer
Writer: David Ayer
Cast: Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto, Joel Kinnaman, Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Jay Hernandez, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Ike Barinholtz, Scott Eastwood, Cara Delevingne, Karena Fukuhara, and Adam Beach
Genres: Action, Adventure, Comedy, Sci-Fi
Running Time: 123 minutes
Languages: English, Japanese
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence and action throughout, disturbing behaviour, suggestive content and language
Production Companies: DC Entertainment, RatPac-Dune Entertainment, Atlas Entertainment
Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures


synopsis

Figuring they’re all expendable, a U.S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with government weapons, Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker (Jared Leto) launches an evil agenda of his own.


my-opinion

First of all, Rotten Tomatoes is too harsh in critiquing Suicide Squad. I mean, it’s not that worse. It’s not that great, but it’s definitely not that worse. Suicide Squad is still enjoyable to me. I am still entertained when I’m watching it. I think it’s unfair for them to give Suicide Squad a bad score like Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) before. I do find Suicide Squad is kind of boring, but I definitely don’t think it as bad as what Rotten Tomatoes thinks. And I’m pretty sure Suicide Squad is not more boring than Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. Even though the story itself is kind of weird and doesn’t make sense, but well, it’s a superhero-anti hero movie, right? What makes them make sense anyway? I’m sure nothing.

“This is the deal: You disobey me, you die. You try to escape, you die. You irritate or vex me… and guess what? You die.” – Rick Flag

Anyway, I’m not judging others. Let them think what they think. Right now, let me tell you what I think about Suicide Squad. Like I’ve said before, in a matter of the story, it’s kind of weird. At first, I don’t really understand what’s going on. Not the part where there are an evil Enchantress and her brother roaming out there, but the part of why Amanda Waller decided to have the Suicide Squad. Yep, I really don’t understand the part. I know she’s worried because there’s no more Superman (if you’ve watched Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, you’ll get what I mean, because yep, this film is a continuation of that film), but I don’t get it why she wanted to have that Suicide Squad team from the beginning. Maybe I miss the beginning or something, but I don’t get that part. Amanda Waller, to me, is a very annoying person. Like, really really annoying. I kind of confused here whether she is a good person or a bad person or a little bit of both or just someone who lust for power. But I think the idea is good. Having bad guys doing good stuff. We can see their good side at least once in awhile. Suicide Squad is really entertaining in a whole new way. With all the superheroes movies out there that are pretty classic in a matter of the story, an anti-hero movie is really something new and fresh and of course, entertaining. The plot isn’t really good, but I like the idea, the action, and of course, the laugh.

I am not a fan of DC Comics, but I do like Harley Quinn and her relationship with Joker. They are a mixture of freak and cute combined together. I love how Harley Quinn said that Joker is her Puddin’. I think Margot Robbie is beautiful and she has a very well done job in portraying Harley Quinn. She’s weird, funny, and beautiful in some way. Of all the bad guys, I think she’s my favourite. Even though I’m still debating whether she’ll be one of my favourite villains or not. Like seriously, Margot Robbie is really good in portraying the crazy Harley Quinn. Like really really good. I think many of the audiences will like her. She drew so much attention. Aside from Harley Quinn, I also like Diablo. I think he’s the strongest one with his awesome cool power. As for Will Smith, well, I’m not saying he’s bad, but I think he’s more suitable being the good guy. Perhaps it’s because I’ve seen him being the good guys all the time. Nevertheless, he’s done his part really well. I think it suits him since Deadshot maybe bad, but he has a good heart deep inside him. I think no one can play Deadshot better than Will Smith. So, I get what all the anti-heroes doing. What I don’t get is Amanda Waller. Truly. I still can’t figure out if she’s the good guy or she’s actually the bad guy.

Don’t forget about Cara Delevingne in Suicide Squad as well! I never watched her films where she played the main character, so I don’t know if she’s that good of an actress. But at least here, she played her part pretty well. I like how Joel Kinnaman played the character Rick Flag. I think we can feel how he felt when you’re watching the film. His expressions are good. Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang is entertaining as well. I love his pink unicorn! I know, I focused on something wrong, but really, the unicorn doll is so cute! Katana also pretty cool with her swords. Although I don’t really understand her character because it was only explained briefly. Nevertheless, she’s pretty badass too. Jared Leto as Joker? Are you kidding me? He’s superb. Creepy but brilliant. I know many people doubt that he won’t be able to beat the late Heath Ledger. Well surely now, you can rest assure that Jared Leto’s Joker is great. He’s creepy crazy and really perfect for Harley Quinn.

I think all the anti-heroes are awesome in some ways. So, yep, Suicide Squad gives us a new perspective about villains or anti-heroes. We usually say that the heroes are cool and awesome. However now, you can say the bad guys are cool too. They have become anti-heroes, instead of just bad guys who do bad things. At least here, they did good things, despite doing it by forced anyway. Not to mention they also give us some laugh too.

So, to sum up, everything I’ve said, Suicide Squad is an entertaining film. In a matter of the story, it’s not that great but it’s not that bad either. The film is still enjoyable in some ways. You can actually laugh when you’re watching it. Suicide Squad gives us a new perspective of bad guys. With all the superheroes movies out there, this film is refreshing. Suicide Squad is a film about bad people vs evil people. It’s new and different, and entertaining as well. I really enjoy this film.

Therefore, I give Suicide Squad 7 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

1 thought on “Suicide Squad (2016) | Film Review”

Leave a Reply

