Odd Thomas (2013) | Film Review


Title: Odd Thomas (2013)
Director: Stephen Sommers
Writer: Stephen Sommers
Based on: Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz
Cast: Anton Yelchin, Addison Timlin, Willem Dafoe, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Nico Tortorella, Kyle McKeever, Shuler Hensley, Morse Bicknell, Laurel Harris and Melissa Ordway
Genres: Comedy, Fantasy, Horror, Mystery, Romance, Thriller
Running Time: 97 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for profanity, frightening/intense scenes, and some violence and gore
Production Companies: Fusion Films, The Sommers Company
Distributed by: Fusion Films, Future Films


synopsis

Small-town fry cook Odd Thomas (Anton Yelchin) is an ordinary guy with a paranormal secret: he sees dead people, everywhere. When a creepy stranger shows up with an entourage of ghostly bodachs—predators who feed on pain and portend mass destruction—Odd knows that his town is in serious trouble. Teaming up with his sweetheart Stormy (Addison Timlin) and the local sheriff (Willem Dafoe), Odd plunges into an epic battle of good vs evil to try to stop a disaster of apocalyptic proportions. Based on the best-selling thriller by Dean Koontz.


my-opinion

I did know about Odd Thomas for a while, but then again, as usual, I haven’t had time to watch it until lately. Or should I say, I forgot that this film exists and I want to watch it. It was so sad that I’ve watched this film after Anton Yelchin died a few weeks ago. It’s really a devastating news, really. I like his role as Chekov in Star Trek (2009) and Star Trek Into Darkness (2013). It’s only a few weeks until his next film, Star Trek Beyond (2016), is released too. It’s so unfortunate that I’m, that we’re not going to see Chekov in the next Star Trek films. I really like Anton Yelchin as Chekov. He is very funny. Anyway, let’s go back to this film, shall we?

“Fate is not a straight road. There are many forks in it. You have the freewill to choose which one you take, but sometimes it will bend around and bring you straight back to that same stubborn fate.” – Odd Thomas

The first few minutes I watched Odd Thomas, I know I’m going to see a good film. The way Yelchin narrates and acting are just entertaining. However, I don’t expect this film to be scary but Odd Thomas is indeed kind of scary at some point. Yelchin’s performance somehow managed to entertain me in so many ways and therefore I don’t mind getting a little bit of scared. I guess Anton Yelchin really knew how to entertain people. His performance is enjoyable to watch.

I really like the chemistry between Odd and Stormy. Yes, Yelchin’s character’s name is really Odd. And he is indeed pretty odd. He has the ability to see the dead and from time to time help them with their unfinished business. He even has psychic magnetism, which helps him to find anyone that he wanted to find. An interesting ability, right? There is also a creature called bodach. It is invisible and feeds on evil and carnage. Only Odd can actually seem the bodachs. Anyway, Odd and Stormy have such a beautiful chemistry together. Truly. They are really sweet. You can just see and feel their love for each other. Seriously, they really good together. Addison Timlin fit the character of Stormy. She is sweet and beautiful. Her acting skill is also very good. She and Anton Yelchin look perfect together as a couple in this film.

I am used to Willem Dafoe playing the villains and seeing him playing the good guy in Odd Thomas is surprisingly good. As far as I remember, I always see him playing the villains. Or at least in the films which I saw that starring him. Even though Willem Dafoe is used to playing villains most of the times, I think he is also great in playing the good people too. I like him playing the good guy here. His acting skill is really good indeed.

Odd Thomas indeed has a very interesting story and somehow unexpected. Especially the ending of the film. I don’t know if I should feel happy or sad, but I do know this film is worth to watch. I don’t read the novel, so I can’t compare it. Even though the film has already explained enough, but I do know the book will explain it more detail. Yep, like the usual. Books always give you more details than the films. No matter what, books contain stories that take hours, days, weeks, and even months of your time, while films only take two hours, three hours at most. Anyway, I wish there’s a continuation of this film, like the books. But since Yelchin has passed away, I don’t think I can expect the possibility. Well, it’s sad, really. And I don’t wish anyone to replace him either. Yelchin really knew how to entertain people and we all will miss him dearly. Odd Thomas really entertained me. I do find this film interesting in some ways.

Therefore, I give Odd Thomas 8 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

Leave a Reply

