film-information

Title: Now You See Me 2 (2016)
Director: Jon M. Chu
Writer: Ed Solomon
Story by: Ed Solomon, Peter Chiarelli
Based on: Characters by Boaz Yakin and Edward Ricourt
Cast: Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson, Dave Franco, Daniel Radcliffe, Lizzy Caplan, Jay Chou, Sanaa Lathan, Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman, and Tsai Chin
Genres: Action, Comedy, Thriller
Running Time: 129 minutes
Languages: English, Mandarin
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for violence and some language
Production Companies: K/O Paper Products, TIK Films
Distributed by: Summit Entertainment


synopsis

After fleeing from a stage show, the illusionists (Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Dave Franco, and Lizzy Caplan) known as the Four Horsemen find themselves in more trouble in Macau, China. Devious tech wizard Walter Mabry (Daniel Radcliffe) forces the infamous magicians to steal a powerful chip that can control all of the world’s computers. Meanwhile, vengeful FBI agent Dylan Rhodes (Mark Ruffalo) hatches his own plot against Thaddeus Bradley (Morgan Freeman), the man he blames for the death of his father.


my-opinion

After a long wait, finally, I’ve got to see another film of magic. Not the kind of Harry Potter’s magic, but more like David Copperfield’s magic. I kind of excited to watch Now You See Me 2. I’ve watched its first film, Now You See Me (2013) and really love it. I think it was a cool film. Magic performance always makes people’s jaw dropped. I am always amazed at David Copperfield’s magic and that’s why I love that film. Now we finally can watch its sequel and I must say it was unbelievably stunning and awesome. Super awesome! The tricks, the actions, the comedy, they all have it. Seriously. Their tricks are even better than the first one. What I like about Now You See Me 2 is that the magic tricks are actually possible to do, though of course, some are impossible. Well, it’s a film, what can we say? There must be something that’s impossible, right? So it’s not a big deal at all. I really like the film.

“A magician’s greatest strength is an empty fist.” J. Daniel Atlas

It’s pretty sad Isla Fisher couldn’t join the team due to her pregnancy, but her replacement, Lizzy Caplan is actually kind of good. In fact, she’s even funnier. So she has added a new fresh in the story. Of all Horsemen, I actually love Dave Franco. Not only he is good in acting but he is also very much good looking as well. Yep, I’m still a girl, people. Anyway, Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine are in Now You See Me 2 again and what can I say to both Oscars-winning actors? They both did a great job, if not, a fantastic job! I always like both actors despite what roles they were playing. I think they have the charisma and always did a great job. No wonder they are Oscars-winning actors after all. What I like about Morgan Freeman besides his acting skill, is his voice. His voice is so unique and so typical that I don’t think anyone could ever have mistaken his voice for someone else’s.

Surprisingly, Daniel Radcliffe has really made the audiences forgot that he used to be Harry Potter. People tend to remember him as the Harry Potter boy, but I guess it’s no longer apply. I think he did a good job playing his role here. It’s funny when he said he loves magic and can do magic because it reminds me of his prior role as a wizard in Harry Potter. But of course, you won’t see any Harry Potter here. He absolutely nailed the role. People will ultimately forget that he used to play as the worldwide phenomenon Harry Potter and will see him as Walter Mabry here. Great job, Radcliffe!

So, to sum up everything, Now You See Me 2 is a great film. Seriously. You should watch it if you haven’t. I really love the actions and the magic tricks, and of course the comedy. Although I laughed quite many times when I watched the film. I still haven’t met the films that can make me laugh out loud from time to time, like Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003) and Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007) or Kung Fu Panda (2008). Nevertheless, Now You See Me 2 is already an entertaining film with its actions and magic tricks.

I give Now You See Me 2 8 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

