X-Men: Apocalypse (2016) | Film Review


Title: X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
Director: Bryan Singer
Writer: Simon Kinberg
Story by: Bryan Singer, Simon Kinberg, Michael Dougherty, Dan Harris
Cast: James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult, Oscar Isaac, Rose Byrne, Evan Peters, Sophie Turner, Josh Helman, Tye Sheridan, Lucas Till, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Ben Hardy, Alexandra Shipp, Olivia Munn, with Hugh Jackman (uncredited)
Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Running Time: 144 minutes
Languages: English, Polish, German, Arabic, Egyptian (Ancient)
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence, action and destruction, brief strong language and some suggestive images
Production Companies: 20th Century Fox, Marvel Entertainment, TSG Entertainment, Bad Hat Harry Productions, Kinberg Genre, The Donners’ Company, Hutch Parker Productions
Distributed by: 20th Century Fox


synopsis

Worshipped as a god since the dawn of civilisation, the immortal Apocalypse (Oscar Isaac) becomes the first and most powerful mutant. Awakening after thousands of years, he recruits the disheartened Magneto (Michael Fassbender) and other mutants to create a new world order. As the fate of the Earth hangs in the balance, Professor X (James McAvoy) and Raven (Jennifer Lawrence) lead a team of young X-Men to stop their seemingly invincible nemesis from destroying mankind.


my-opinion

I must say that I like X-Men: Apocalypse even better than Captain America: Civil War (2016). This film is really good. I really like it. It’s interesting to see this X-Men reboot. I get the chance to see the younger version of everyone—perhaps except Logan a.k.a. Wolverine since he doesn’t age the way others do. In this film, you can finally see the younger self of Jean Grey who is played by Sophie Turner. After watching her playing the role Sansa Stark in Game of Thrones, it’s pretty interesting to see her in the X-Men franchise. I think she suits the role. I am not a fan of her, but I really can’t imagine a better young Jean Grey. Her acting in this film is really good, seriously. There are many new actors and actresses in X-Men: Apocalypse, but I think Sophie Turner really stole the attention. I don’t know if it’s because of her character or because it was her or the combination of the two, all I know is that she is really good.

“Those with the greatest power… protect those without. That’s my message to the world.” – Charles Xavier

Michael Fassbender as Erik Lehnsherr a.k.a. Magneto is just fantastic. You can actually feel his feelings. He’s just awesome. Somehow I nearly—I really mean nearly—cried at some point. I think Magneto is really an interesting hero/villain. He’s my second best favourite villain after Loki in Thor films. Whether it’s Michael Fassbender or Sir Ian McKellen, I think Magneto is an interesting character. James McAvoy also played the younger version of Professor Charles Xavier. The way he played the character is pretty different from Sir Patrick Stewart, but I think he is great.

The overall story of X-Men: Apocalypse is very much interesting. Even though I have to say, I kind of lost with the timeline since X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014), but I still can enjoy the film. I think X-Men: Apocalypse has a more interesting story than Captain America: Civil War, even though X-Men: Apocalypse is not as funny as Captain America: Civil War. The action scenes are also better. Well, I have to say, X-Men is always better than Captain America and this time it is no different. It is still better. I think the fact that mutants have more interesting powers is the reason why I like this film better. Mutants really do have interesting powers. With so many abilities, the actions become more intriguing. You don’t know what to expect. Jean Grey and Logan definitely have the most interesting mutant power of all people. However, I think Professor Xavier’s and Magneto’s ability are just as powerful and interesting. I can’t even choose which one is better.

Since I’ve watched the trailer of X-Men: Apocalypse, I’ve been expecting to see Hugh Jackman’s appearance as Wolverine, but kind of not feeling satisfied because he only showed up for a while. Nevertheless, at least he showed up so I get the chance to see him. He has shown up in every X-Men film, except Deadpool (2016), even though in some films he’s just a cameo and is uncredited. But I think Wolverine is really awesome, truly. Not to mention Hugh Jackman is the one who played the role too. I can’t think a better actor to play that role. He is already the better, so no one will be better than him. After all, he is one of my favourite actors, so I won’t ever ask for another actor to replace him. Not even another of my favourite actor who would replace him. I mean, it just can’t. Hugh Jackman is really the best actor to play Wolverine. I really can’t wait to see the upcoming Wolverine film.

So, in summary, I like X-Men: Apocalypse better than Captain America: Civil War. In fact, I never really like Captain America films. However, since the last film, they have Iron Man in it, I kind of like it. After all, Iron is one of my favourite superheroes. I guess, if they don’t have Iron Man, I don’t think I like that film. So yeah, I definitely like X-Men: Apocalypse because the story is really really good. And don’t forget to watch the film until the end of the credit! Because, like all Marvel films, they have a scene after the end of the credit.

I give X-Men: Apocalypse 8.5 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

2 thoughts on “X-Men: Apocalypse (2016) | Film Review”

Leave a Reply

