Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2016) | TV Series Review


Title: Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2016)
Based on: Sherlock by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Cast: Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Rupert Graves, Una Stubbs, Mark Gatiss, Louise Brealey, Amanda Abbington, and Andrew Scott
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
Original Language(s): English, French
No. of Series: 3
No. of Episodes: 9 + 1 Spin-Off
Genre: Crime, Drama, Mystery
Running Time: 85-90 minutes
Original Network: BBC One, BBC HD (2010), BBC One HD (2012-present), PBS (2010-present)


synopsis

Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson find themselves in 1890s London in this holiday special. “The Abominable Bride” is a special episode of the British television programme Sherlock. It depicts the characters of the show in an alternative timeline; in the Victorian London setting of the original stories by Arthur Conan Doyle. The title is based on the quote (“Ricoletti of the club foot and his abominable wife”) from “The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual”, which refers to a case mentioned by Holmes.


my-opinion

Sherlock: The Abominable Bride is a Sherlock TV series spin-off that was released between the third series and fourth series. However, unlike the usual series which took place in the modern world, this spin-off took place back in the 1890s, just like the original Sherlock Holmes did. As always, the story is smart and thrilling and exciting. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are the perfect couples to play Sherlock Holmes and Dr John Watson. They have the chemistry. I think of all the series, this one is the most thrilling one. I watched it in the middle of the night and found myself a little bit scared. Though I wasn’t so scared anymore when I watched it the second time. Not to worry, this is not a horror story. It’s just a little bit shocking in some scenes.

“Good afternoon. I’m Sherlock Holmes, This is my friend and colleague, Dr. Watson. You may speak freely in front of him, as he rarely understands a word.” Sherlock Holmes

Nonetheless, The Abominable Bride is awesome and smart and mind-blowing, as always. I really can’t guess the output of the case. The case was indeed unique and sometimes quite spooky as well. There is a little bit of confusion in the story but I think I can really overlook them. The overall story is so great that a bit confusion is just fine. I like the setting in The Abominable Bride. As much as I love seeing the usual Sherlock, I think seeing an old England is kind of refreshing. I know, in what way seeing old things is refreshing? That’s probably on your mind right now. Well, since I love old and classic things, I really love seeing old England. The fact that I kind of interested in history also explains it, I guess.

Anyway, I am so excited and can’t wait for the upcoming season of Sherlock. The Abominable Bride is really a treat to our longing of the original series. Unfortunately, the next series won’t be released until next year. So yeah, we still have to wait that long. But at least, The Abominable Bride has already cured our longing even just a bit. We got the chance to see the dashing Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock and Martin Freeman as Dr Watson. They both are really like the dynamic duo. They are funny when they are together. I guess it’s just their charm that makes everything seems funnier and interesting. Both actors are really charming. Cumberbatch is really the right actor to play Sherlock. I guess that is his trademark. He is very good at playing a smart person, just like in The Imitation Game (2014), even though the Sherlock TV series is actually coming first before The Imitation Game. I don’t know if it’s because of Sherlock that he looks very suited to play the role of a smart person or it’s because of his looks from the beginning. I think it’s the later, though.

“I’m an army doctor, which means I could break every bone in your body while naming them.” Dr John Watson

Like the other episodes in Sherlock, The Abominable Bride runs in 90 minutes. And believe me, it was a thrilling and fascinating 90 minutes. I love Sherlock Holmes stories, despite haven’t read the book. I always interested with it. Reading and watching Detective Conan perhaps is the main reason why I love detective stories.

After watching Sherlock the TV series, I am still debating whether I like Cumberbatch or Robert Downey Jr.’s as Sherlock Holmes. I think I like them both just the same. Both of them, after all, are my favourite actors. So either way, I love their Sherlock Holmes just the same! They gave a different Sherlock yet still smart and funny and very much interesting and handsome. This spin-off is really worth and enjoyable to watch. You are not going to regret it, especially if you like Sherlock the TV series or detective stories in general. I really can’t wait for the next series!

I give Sherlock: The Abominable Bride 10 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

3 thoughts on “Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2016) | TV Series Review”

  1. I absolutely loved the Sherlock tv series so far, and honestly I did not even know that this spin-off existed. Great review, abd thanks for sharing this one. Definitely going to search for it soon😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

