The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling | Book Review


Title: The Tales of Beedle the Bard (The Hogwarts Library)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Publication Date: 8 November 2012
Edition Language: English
Pages: 109 pages
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult


synopsis

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, a Wizarding classic, first came to Muggle readers’ attention in the book known as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Now, thanks to Hermione Granger’s new translation from the ancient runes, we present this stunning edition with an introduction, notes, and illustrations by J. K. Rowling, and extensive commentary by Albus Dumbledore. Never before have Muggles been privy to these richly imaginative tales: “The Wizard and the Hopping Pot,” “The Fountain of Fair Fortune,” “The Warlock’s Hairy Heart,” “Babbitty Rabbitty and Her Cackling Stump,” and of course, “The Tale of the Three Brothers.” But not only are they the equal of fairy tales we now know and love, reading them gives new insight into the world of Harry Potter.


my-opinion

I’ve read many fairy tales like Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, Wizard Oz, and many more. But none was like The Tales of Beedle the Bard. J. K. Rowling is indeed a great author. She introduced us to this magical world’s fairy tale. It’s easy to understand, easy to read, and easy to follow, like any other kinds of fairy tales. But not like any other kinds of fairy tales, this one is a wizard fairy tales. With a little note in each story from Professor Albus Dumbledore, we—Muggles—know a little bit about the Wizarding World. He did explain how these tales take roles for children in Wizarding World. Each of the stories has their own moral lesson and Professor Dumbledore explained it to us one by one. This book makes Hogwarts seem so real. I really wish it is real, of course. 

There are five fairy tales here and each is different from the last one. My favourite one is, of course, The Tale of the Three Brothers, the one that was included in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. But if I have to pick another, perhaps I will choose The Fountain of Fair Fortune. However, I also like the other stories as well. Nah, I can’t really pick, I am sorry. They are so good and different. This book is super awesome! Believe me. I really can’t expect less from J. K. Rowling. If you’re a Harry Potter fan like I do, you should have and read this book. Mine was the Hogwarts Library edition, so it goes with another two as well, Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which I have reviewed before.

“The heroes and heroines who triumph in his stories are not those with the most powerful magic, but rather those who demonstrate the most kindness, common sense and ingenuity.” Albus Dumbledore

Anyway, all in all, I really like The Tales of Beedle the Bard. It’s exciting to read fairy tales from Wizarding World. I am a fan of Wizarding World, that’s why this book really awesome to me. I really really love The Tales of Beedle the Bard so much. Not just because I love magic, but the stories in the book are really really good. Well done, Rowling!

I give The Tales of Beedle the Bard 5 out of 5 stars!

😘   Toodle-oo,

Leave a Reply

