book-information

Title: The Warlock (The Secret of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #5)
Author: Michael Scott
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: 24 May 2011
Edition Language: English
Pages: 385 pages
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Mythology, Thriller, Young Adult


synopsis

The twins of prophecy have been divided—the end has begun.

Alcatraz
Although their ally Dr John Dee has been declared utlaga, Machiavelli and Billy the Kid will follow the plans the Elders have laid before them: they will loose the monsters of Alcatraz on the city of San Francisco, thereby triggering the end of the human race.

Danu Talis
The Shadowrealm that Scatty and Joan of Arc have entered is far more dangerous than they could ever have imagined. And they haven’t landed here by chance—the warriors were called for a reason. So were Saint-Germain, Palamedes, and Shakespeare. The group was summoned because they must travel back int time to Danu Talis to destroy it. For the island of Danu Talis, known in humani myth as the lost city of Atlantis, must fall if the modern world is to exist.

San Francisco
The end is finally near. Josh Newman has chosen a side, and he will not stand with his sister, Sophie, or with the Alchemyst, Nicholas Flamel. He will fight alongside Dee and the mysterious Virginia Dare.

Unless Sophie can find her twin before the battle begins, all is lost—forever. 


my-opinion

The Warlock is the fifth book of The Secret of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series. Like the previous four books, the point of view keeps changing every chapter, though it still uses third person point of view. It’s more of the setting that keeps changing because the characters are separated in all over the world. The story is actually very good and unique.  Even though the series is called ‘The Secret of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel’, I don’t think he’s the main character after all. Nicholas Flamel is the first reason why I bought the first book in the first place. However, instead of being the only main character, it seems he’s more of a side character. The twin of legends are actually the main characters but the portion in which they appeared in the book is just the same as others. So I’m a little bit confused about whose the main one and whose the side one. In The Warlock, Nicholas Flamel has barely shown up not until the last chapters.

“Knowledge itself is never dangerous, it is how that knowledge is used that is dangerous.” Tsagaglalal

The plot of The Warlock moved too slow in my opinion. One book is for one day set. I spent days to read it and it was just past a day in the book. I am not saying it’s a bad thing but I am happier if the plot was faster. I am not surprised, though, since the previous books were only taken a day per book. Therefore, no surprise here as well. I guess the problem why the story takes too long is because Michael Scott described each event so, um, how do I put in words, so detail. Too detail, I think. It can be a good thing or a bad thing, depends on how you write it. I want to be a writer so I know how details are important for the writers. We want the readers to catch every aspect and details just the same like the writers have pictured. Sometimes it can get too long. I know it because I’ve experienced it. I know too long can make the readers get bored, but sometimes we just can’t help it. That’s why I’m not going to complain, I get what Michael Scott meant.

One of my favourite thing about Michael Scott’s novels is that he always finds the right moment to cut the story. What I meant about the right moment is when everything seems bizarre and you needed to read more, suddenly the book has ended. It’s a smart choice to do so the readers must expect the next book. It can get bloody annoying, I know. Especially when you have to wait for another year to read the next book. However, I personally think that if a writer can make the readers want to read the continuation book, then the writer must have written a good story. As simple as that. The names of the characters are mostly very unique. I still can’t even pronounce or even spell them right. And I don’t think it’s a bad thing. I think it makes the story unique.

I still think that The Warlock or The Secret of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, in general, has indeed a very good story. It has a good plot like none other stories you’ll ever read. I’ve read a lot of books, though not as many as many people out there I believe, but I am pretty much sure that there are still not many books that took Nicholas Flamel as one of the main characters. Mentions, perhaps, but took a major part of the book? I don’t know. I still haven’t found it yet, so if you know of some books or films, please, do correct me in the comment below. I would like to know more about it!

Anyway, overall, The Warlock is still enjoyable to read. Although I like the first three books (The Alchemist, The Magician, and The Sorceress) better, but still, The Warlock is worth to read. You have no idea where this story will go.

The Warlock gets 3.5 out of 5 stars from me.

😘   Toodle-oo,brenda-rochelle

