film-information

Title: The Theory of Everything (2014)
Director: James Marsh
Writer: Anthony McCarten
Based on: Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen by Jane Wilde Hawking
Cast: Eddie Redmayne, Felicity Jones, Harry Lloyd, Charlie Cox, David Thewlis, Maxine Peake, Alice Orr-Ewing, Emily Watson, Simon McBurney, Lucy Chappell, Charlotte Hope, Abigail Cruttenden, and Adam Godley
Genres: Biography, Drama, Romance
Running Time: 123 minutes
Languages: English, French, Latin, Italian
MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for some thematic elements and suggestive material
Production Company: Working Title Films
Distributed by: Universal Pictures International, Focus Features


synopsis

In the 1960s, Cambridge University student and future physicist Stephen Hawking (Eddie Redmayne) falls in love with fellow collegian Jane Wilde (Felicity Jones). At 21, Hawking learns that he has motor neurone disease. Despite this—and with Jane at his side—he begins an ambitious study of time, of which he has very little left, according to his doctor. He and Jane defy terrible odds and break new ground in the fields of medicine and science, achieving more than either could hope to imagine.


my-opinion

Okay, seriously, Eddie Redmayne is, one word, AWESOME. I would freak out if he didn’t get an Oscar and Golden Globe for his role here. And fortunately, he really did get them in 2015. Hence making him the first, and thus far the only, millennial male actor to have won an acting Oscar for his role in The Theory of Everything. So cool, right? Indeed his acting in this film is perfect. Aside from Academy Awards and Golden Globe, Redmayne also gets the 2015 Screen Actors Guild Awards and British Academy Film (BAFTA) Awards as well for this role. Isn’t he wonderful? I know The Theory of Everything is so last year, but I only have the chance to watch it now. Or should I say, I just remember that I want to watch this film since last year yet I completely forgot about the existence of this film? But better late than never, right? The only thing that I regret from watching The Theory of Everything is why I don’t watch it sooner. Yeah, silly me. Even though I wanted to watch it last year but then I just forgot. Stupid me. Anyway, the story of this film is about Stephen Hawking and his wife, Jane Hawking. The story is taken from Jane’s book named “Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen”. You will find Stephen Hawking is amazing. I know he’s a genius but never knew how is he, how he has gone through his life, and trust me, he’s amazing.

Eddie Redmayne is more amazing since he can play the role perfectly. The way he walked, the way he talked, the way Redmayne contorting his face was so amazing, outstanding, and perfect. The dedication that Redmayne did for this role is truly worth a standing ovation. Redmayne lost about 15 pounds and trained for four months from a dancer to know how to control his body movements. He met 40 ALS patients and kept a chart tracking the order in which Hawking’s muscles declined, and stood in front of a mirror for hours on end, contorting his face. Lastly, he remained motionless and hunched over between takes, so much so that an osteopath told him he had altered the alignment of his spine. See? I am not exaggerating about how great he is, right? Redmayne is truly so very amazing. I salute him very much. He has officially become one of my new favourite actors now. Even Stephen Hawking said that at times, he thought he was watching himself. Well, that’s a pretty high praise, right?

Sometimes the story can tearful but then so many lessons you can get from this film. While other times, I even laugh in several scenes as well, so it’s not always touching or confusing because of all those physics theories and all. Because you also get to enjoy with a little bit of smile and laugh. There’s a line from Stephen Hawking that I really like. And those words really touch my heart. The Theory of Everything inspires me, Stephen Hawking inspires me. And from this film, I fell in love with Eddie Redmayne. His acting skill is superb and his looks is a plus point that I like about him. Like seriously, I can’t stop feeling in awe every time I watch The Theory of Everything and see the way Eddie Redmayne acted as Stephen Hawking. It’s just superb. You can even get the chance to hear the robotic voice of Stephen Hawking. The real Stephen Hawking did lend his copyrighted ‘voice’ to make the film as real as possible. Even the Companion of Honour medal and the signed thesis are genuine props lent by Stephen Hawking himself.

“There ought to be something very special about the boundary conditions of the universe. And what can be more special than that there is no boundary? And there should be no boundary to human endeavour. We are all different. However bad life may seem, there is always something you can do, and succeed at. While there is life, there is hope.” Stephen Hawking

As for Felicity Jones, I think she’s a great actress. She is beautiful and talented. Jones played the character of Jane Wilde—or later Jane Hawking—really well. You can actually see the love between Stephen and Jane is real. Even the struggles were all looked real. Both Jones and Redmayne don’t need to say much to tell us what happened or how they felt at that moment of time. They both have shown it through their expressions. No wonder both of them received nominations for Oscars. Although unfortunately, Felicity Jones doesn’t win it. However, being a nominee is already a privilege. As for Eddie Redmayne, well, I am sure if he didn’t win, the Academy surely has done a huge huge mistake. I didn’t what’s got into their mind if they didn’t choose Eddie Redmayne as the winner for Best Actor that year. His dedication for this acting really needs the highest appreciation.

I also like the chemistry between Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones. They really look like they love each other and even when their relationship started to fall apart, their chemistry and emotion were just right. It’s really nice to see their chemistry and interaction together. I like how they didn’t show any love scene in the film but still maintain to show the romance and chemistry really good. Because it’s more about how Stephen Hawking fights for his life, it’s okay to not have any love scene. At least, we got the chance to see how they fell in love and I think that is enough.

Although Harry Lloyd didn’t take much part in the story, I do feel that he played the character of Stephen Hawking’s best friend, Brian, really well. I don’t know whether Brian was the character made for film or he is indeed a real life person because I haven’t read the original book but I like the friendship between him and Stephen Hawking, at least in the film. They were very funny together and I think they are what people nowadays called as friendship goals.

Charlie Cox played the character of Jonathan Hellyer Jones, who later became Jane Wilde’s second husband. He did well in portraying his character, whether his acting or his chemistry with Felicity Jones and Eddie Redmayne. The other cast as well played their parts really well and thus making this film is a total package of a good film. The physics theory can be confusing but of course, since when physics is not confusing, right? At least it’s not as complicated as when I watching Interstellar (2014).

The whole story of The Theory of Everything is really good and inspiring. We can see how Stephen Hawking trying and fighting with all his might. Even when he can’t move anymore, he still has the passion for studying and doing researches. Meanwhile, the film has told us how Jane Wilde also tried her best to maintain her family and take care of Stephen Hawking. I like the story of how they fell in love and even when their relationship started to fall apart, they still care for each other. Jane Wilde still fighting to make Stephen Hawking stayed alive. The Theory of Everything is truly an inspiring film with an amazing story. It’s so unfortunate that this film didn’t win the Oscar in 2015 but being nominated is already really great.

The only flaw of this film for me is they didn’t give us note what year the scene was, so I found myself difficult to keep track. But it’s just a small flaw of all the great things that the film has offered. Therefore, no big deal at all. The Theory of Everything is so worth to watch, folks. You won’t regret it. And it’s 10 stars for Eddie Redmayne. He did awesome—super awesome job. I would like to see more of his acting. He’s just superb and not to mention handsome as well. I really think this film is a success mainly because of Redmayne’s acting.

I give The Theory of Everything 9 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

