Title: Pan (2015)
Director: Joe Wright
Writer: Jason Fuchs
Based on: Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
Cast: Levi Miller, Hugh Jackman, Garrett Hedlund, Rooney Mara, Adeel Akhtar, Nonso Anozie, Amanda Seyfried, and Cara Delevingne
Genres: Adventure, Family, Fantasy
Running Time: 111 minutes
Language: English
MPAA Rating: Rated PG for fantasy action violence, language and some thematic material
Production Companies: RatPac-Dune Entertainment, Berlanti Productions
Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures


Living a bleak existence in a London orphanage, 12-year-old Peter (Levi Miller) finds himself whisked away to the fantastical world of Neverland. Adventure awaits as he meets new friend James Hook (Garrett Hedlund) and the warrior Tiger Lily (Rooney Mara). They must band together to save Neverland from the ruthless pirate Blackbeard (Hugh Jackman). Along the way, the rebellious and mischievous boy discovers his true destiny, becoming the hero forever known as Peter Pan.


my-opinion

“I’m going to tell you a story about a boy who would never grow up. But this isn’t the story that you’ve heard before. Sometimes, to truly understand how things end, we must first know how they begin.” – Narrator

Those are the words first heard in the film. Pan shows you the other side of Peter Pan or to be exact, before Peter Pan became the Peter Pan we all know. Funny to think that my first film review is actually about Peter Pan where he then went to Neverland, a place which inspired the name of my blog. Funny and at the same time, it’s only fitting.

In this film, they explain where did Peter Pan come from and how he could end up in Neverland. I don’t think this film is really good, especially when you use your logic in the entire film. Perhaps because of everything about Peter Pan, I’ve known it from the original story and film, which is Peter Pan (2003). However, it’s good to see another side of Peter Pan’s story.

I was so surprised when I saw Hugh Jackman here because he didn’t look like Hugh Jackman at all. Well, most of the people didn’t know it was Hugh Jackman. I did recognise him immediately but surely his makeup is just amazing. He looks so different. To tell you the truth, I was interested in this film because I like Peter Pan story and I love Hugh Jackman, that is why I decided to watch it. I still prefer the 2003’s Peter Pan, though. Perhaps because it’s the original story, therefore people—including me—like it more. I also like Rooney Mara. I think she’s very beautiful and her acting is just no doubt. I am not a fan of Cara Delevingne, but for those who love her, you’ll see her here as mermaids. Yep, not a mermaid, but mermaids.

So, to sum up, everything. I think Pan is an okay film. Not that great, but definitely not worst. Hugh Jackman is great as a bad pirate such as Captain Hook, though unfortunately, the film itself is not quite as I expected.

I give Pan 6 out of 10 stars.

😘   Toodle-oo,

